WATCH | Rahul Gandhi's Competition Priya Prakash Varrier Reacts To His 'Wink'

Written By Gunjan Kalati | Mumbai | Published:


  • Not too long ago, Malayalam actress Priya Prakash Varrier broke the internet with her sensational wink.
  • After learning about yet another sensational wink by none other than Congress President Rahul Gandhi, here's what Priya Prakash Varrier had to say about it

Not too long ago, Malayalam actress Priya Prakash Varrier broke the internet with her sensational wink. The viral Varrier quickly became one of the most searched actresses in India, leaving behind former adult star Sunny Leone.

Since Priya has made her name synonyms to a wink - it was only obvious for netizens to draw a comparison between viral Varrier and Congress President Rahul Gandhi’s wink. Yes, you read that right.

On Friday, Rahul Gandhi led his party's charge against the BJP-led central government in Parliament. Moments before the completion of his 42-minute scathing attack on the Narendra Modi government, Rahul Gandhi walked across the Lok Sabha to give the Prime Minister a hug.

Following which Harsimrat Kaur of the Shiromani Akali Dal protested this move saying, “Rahul is an MP, he can’t do this pappi-jhappi moment”. Not only did the hug go viral but so did the Rahul Gandhi’s wink, which was a response to Harsimrat Kaur’s ‘Jhappi’ protest. In little to no time, Twitterati began pitting Rahul Gandhi and Priya Prakash Varrier against each other asking users -- ‘Who did it better?’

Republic TV asked Priya Prakash Varrier, the girl synonymous to the act of winking,  how she felt about this - listen to her response above!

The world knows Priya Prakash Varrier who turned into an overnight sensation when a teaser clip of Manikya Malaraya Poovi, from her upcoming film Oru Adaar Love. She melted the internet with her famous wink. Now, it seems that she has a tough competition.


The Narendra Modi-led Government is currently its first no-confidence motion, four years after winning the 2014 mandate as the first single-party majority in three decades. The NDA last faced the no-confidence motion under the leadership of former Prime Minister Atal Bihari Vajpayee in 2003. The Vajpayee-led Government had defeated the motion with an overwhelming majority. To defeat the no-confidence motion, the BJP would require to gain a mark of 268 votes. The NDA at present counts 312 members in the 535-member Lok Sabha, including 274 of the BJP.