WATCH | Rajnath Singh Takes Oath As A Newly-inducted Cabinet Minister In The Modi Cabinet 2.0 At The Swearing-in Ceremony At Rashtrapati Bhavan

Written By Navashree Nandini | Mumbai | Published:

Former Home Minister and BJP MP from Uttar Pradesh's Lucknow Parliamentary constituency Rajnath Singh took oath as the Union Minister in the PM Modi Cabinet 2.0. at the swearing-in ceremony at the Rashtrapati Bhavan on May 30. 

Here's his oath of office:

"I, Rajnath Singh, do swear in the name of God (or, solemnly affirm) that I will bear true faith and allegiance to the Constitution of India as by law established, that I will uphold the sovereignty and integrity of India, that I will faithfully and conscientiously discharge my duties as a Minister for the Union and that I will do right to all manner of people in accordance with the Constitution and the law, without fear or favour, affection or ill-will."

The oath of secrecy reads:

"I, Rajnath Singh, do swear in the name of God (or, solemnly affirm) that I will not directly or indirectly communicate or reveal to any person or persons any matter which shall be brought under my consideration or shall become known to me as a Minister for the Union except as may be required for the due discharge of my duties as such Minister".

After taking the oath as the Singh greeted the President of India by shaking hands with him at the stage. 

READ | Narendra Modi To Take Oath Of Office For Second Term As Prime Minister: LIVE Updates Ahead Of Swearing-in Ceremony Here

Union Home Minister and BJP candidate Rajnath Singh has won the Lucknow seat with a margin of 3,47,302 votes. His nearest rival was Poonam Sinha of Samajwadi Party.  

In 2014, Rajnath Singh won the election by a resounding 5,61,106 votes, defeating Rita Bahuguna Joshi by a margin of 2,72,749 votes. In third place, Nakul Dubey won a total of 64,449 votes. Atal Bihari Vajpayee had been contesting from Lucknow since 1991 till 2004. In the 2009 Lok Sabha elections, BJP’s Lalji Tandon won the elections with 2,04,028 votes continuing the BJP winning streak.

Narendra Modi took the oath as the Prime Minister of India, beginning his second consecutive term in office at 7:05 pm on May 30 at the Rashtrapati Bhavan's Forecourt in the presence of over 8,000 guests.