WATCH: Violent Clashes Erupt Among Congress Workers Outside Party Office In Jharkhand After Lok Sabha Defeat


The Congress party has been divided into two opposing factions in Jharkhand. JPCC President Ajay Kumar has resigned

Written By Digital Desk | Mumbai | Updated On:

Violent clashes erupted among Congress party workers in Jharkhand on Sunday, following which the Jharkhand Pradesh Congress Committee (JPCC) President Ajay Kumar has tendered his resignation, as per sources. 

Sources further claim that what started as a protest against the Kumar, soon turned into an aggressive brawl between the party workers. Ever since Congress was defeated by the BJP in the elections, there has been a rebellion by the party workers against Kumar, demanding his resignation, as per sources.

'Visuals show that 'Go Back' slogans have been raised against Kumar by the protesters

WATCH | Congress Admits For The First Time That It Lost 2019 Lok Sabha Elections Due To Modi Wave

Refusing to comment on the matter, one of the Congress karyakartas said: 

"We are here to address our state's issues and not talk about people. Our motive is to solve problems that persist in Jharkhand."

However, contradicting to the previous party worker's statement, another party member from the opposing faction precisely stated the reason for this clash:

"The whole matter is regarding the state party President. No party chief is above the party workers. No political party will function without its workers. We have spoken to the state party chief. We hope he listens to us"

WATCH | BJP Protests In Kolkata, West Bengal Over Alleged Killing Of Five Workers, Violent Clashes In State

The situation and state of affairs of the Congress Party have worsened across several states in India. Following the incident, former Union Minister and AICC Jharkhand In- charge R.P.N Singh visited the state on Sunday to take note of the situation, as per sources. There were reportedly two groups of party workers gathered at the Jharkhand Congress office while a meeting was underway after which protests commenced.

READ | PM Modi Gets Samadhi Buddha Statue As Gift From Sri Lankan President Maithripala Sirisena. Here's How It Is Important

In the 2019 elections,  Jharkhand was probably the only state where the BJP was pitted against a grand alliance. Not only did the Congress, JMM and the RJD joined hands once again, they also extended their alliance to include the Jharkhand Vikas Morcha (JVM), which held a significant vote share in the state.

BJP scored a victory in 12 out of the 14 seats. The other two went to Jharkhand Mukti Morcha, where Shibu Soren (Dumka) and Vijay Kumar Hansdak (Rajmahal) were the winning candidates. Pashupati Nath Singh (Dhanbad), Jayant Sinha (Hazaribagh) and Karia Munda (Khunti) were prominent BJP winners. Geeta Koda was defeated by Laxman Giluwa of BJP in Singhbhum constituency. 

By 2030, 40% Indian will not have access to drinking water