Open Republic Achievers Awards

WATCH: Blind Cricket World Cup Winning Heroes Honored With Special Jury Award At Achievers Award 2019

Written By Narayan R | Mumbai | Published:

Away from the all the limelight, the blind Indian cricket team has been making the country proud with its achievements on the field. Since 2012, they have won four World Cups in the ODI and T20I format, this with barely any support.

On Monday, the unsung heros of India, who have been quietly doing their job, were recognised for their performances and tremendous ability with a special jury award at the Republic-Open Magazine's Achievers Award 2019. The accolade was collected by the coach, chief advisor, captain and five members of the team on behalf of the whole squad.

John David, the General Secretary of Cricket Association for the Blind in India (CABI), expressed his delight on the fact that the blind cricket team was recognised for their performances.

He thanked the jury for awarding the team with the accolade and requested the people to continue with the support for the team. Further, John David explained how the blind cricket is played, showing the ball which is used before heaping praise on two of his team's players.

Mahantesh GK, president of the CABI, mentioned that he was honored with the recognition and thanked the jury members for contributing to blind cricket by giving them this special award.

"Being an ardent cricket lover, I feel very honored when my boys continue to win. But definitely they need more support. All of you, who follow and supported blind cricket, continue to do that. Those who have not, please start supporting and please start following. I would like to thank all the eminnent juries who specially chose these boys for considering their accomplishments," he added.

WATCH: OYO Rooms Founder Ritesh Agarwal States Mission To Become "World's Largest Hotel Company By 2023" After Winning The 'New Age Business' Gong At The Achievers Awards

In the past half decade, the team has had major succes in the international arena. The Indian cricket team won the inaugural T20 World Cup in 2012, before following it up with a World Cup success in 2014.

Not resting on their laurels, they continued their winning streak with a second consecutive T20 World Cup victory in 2017, followed by a second successive World Cup in 2018.