TQWL: Tatkal Waitlisted Tickets – Know Your IRCTC Train Ticket Types


IRCTC Waiting List Train Ticket Types can be of many kinds such as GNWL, PQWL, RLWL, TQWL. Here’s a guide on what do different train ticket types mean on IRCTC and their Confirmation Probability.

Written By Lifestyle Desk | Mumbai | Updated On:

What does TQWL Mean?

TQWL - TQWL means Tatkal waitlisted tickets. Tatkal service is an emergency ticket booking service that opens 24 hours before the departure for the train and has significantly higher charges. After the fixed number of Tatkal Tickets is filled up, the next passengers to book are given TQWL status. The Tatkal waiting list used to be called CKWL which has been changed to TQWL by the Indian Railways in December 2016. If a tatkal ticket for the journey is cancelled, the TQWL goes up directly and doesn’t go through RAC status. During chart preparation, general waiting list (GNWL) is preferred over (TQWL) hence TQWL confirmation chances are very less. For any given train, TQWL confirmation chances are usually within the realms of possibility for TQWL 1 and TQWL 2, but not for those afterwards.

TQWL Confirmation Chances

During preparation of the final chart, a GNWL ticket is given preference over TQWL ticket. However, before the chart is prepared, if a tatkal ticket goes up, it is given directly to a TQWL ticket holder, unlike GNWL tickets which go via RAC. 

However, you can check the confirmation probability of your ticket getting confirmed at IRCTC Website

For more details, you may also download the IRCTC app for mobile devices. 

The advance booking for tickets in the Indian Railways commences 120 days before the date of the journey. Tickets can be booked online at www.irctc.co.in, or offline at Passenger Reservation System(PRS) in railway stations. The online ticket can again be an e-ticket whose print-out is to be shown during the journey or an i-ticket which is delivered to the passenger by Courier. All the tickets issued contain a unique 10-digit PNR (Passenger Name Record) which is to be quoted during any correspondence relating to the ticket/journey. The ticket also shows the journey details like train number, journey date, travel class, origin, destination, ticket status, berth details for confirmed tickets, passenger details etc. A Maximum of six passengers can travel through one ticket. But having a ticket does not guarantee that the journey is confirmed, it depends on the status of the ticket. The status of the ticket can be waiting (WL), RAC (half berth), or confirmed (full berth). A passenger is guaranteed a journey if his/her ticket is CNF(confirmed) or RAC (Reservation Against Cancellation) but not if its WL(Waiting List). These technical details can be quite illegible to the average user, who can struggle to grapple what TQWL or RLWL is, or what PQWL means.

All the different statuses of train tickets are described below in intricate detail.:
•    General Waiting List (GNWL)
•    Pooled Quota Waiting List (PQWL)
•    Remote Location Waiting list (RLWL)
•    Tatkal Waiting List Tickets (TQWL)

By 2030, 40% Indian will not have access to drinking water