Afghanistan Announces 15-member World Cup Squad, Asghar Afghan Will Not Be Leading Them

Cricket News

Afghanistan Cricket Board (ACB) on Monday announced their 15-member squad for the World Cup.

Written By Karthik Nair | Mumbai | Updated On:

Afghanistan Cricket Board (ACB) on Monday announced their 15-member squad for the World Cup. Here's the list of players.

The spirited Afghan team will be led by Gulbadin Naib instead of Asghar Afghan. They will also have the services of wicket-keeper batsman Mohammad Shahzad who provides a brisk start. The biggest threat in their side will be the presence of spin trio Mohammad Nabi, Rashid Khan and Mujeeb Ur Rahman who have the ability to bamboozle the world's best batsmen.

Afghanistan will be making their second World Cup appearance. They had made their World Cup debut in the 2015 edition where they could only manage a solitary win against Scotland as a result of which their campaign ended in the group stage. 

 WATCH: The Nail-biting Final Over As MS Dhoni Falters In The Last Moment Against Virat Kohli's RCB

The deadline for announcing World Cup squads is April 23, but teams can be changed up to May 23.

Afghanistan became the ninth team to announce their 15-member World Cup squad after New Zealand, Australia, India, Bangladesh, England, Sri Lanka, South Africa and Pakistan.

The 12th edition of the World Cup will be played in England & Wales, in the United Kingdom. The quadrennial event will commence from May 30 as England will lock horns against South Africa at the Oval. The final will be played on July 14 at the Lord's with a reserve day on July 15.

Afghanistan will begin their World Cup campaign against reigning World Champions Australia at the County Ground in Bristol on June 1.

WATCH: Faf Du Plessis' Herculean Co-ordinated Effort To Dismiss Stoinis In CSK-RCB Thriller



By 2030, 40% Indians will not have access to drinking water