Cricket News

ANNOUNCED: India's 15-member Squad For World Cup 2019 - Kohli To Be Captain, Rohit Vice-captain. Full Team Here

Written By Karthik Nair | Mumbai | Published:

BCCI on Monday announced the 15-member squad for the upcoming ICC Cricket World Cup 2019. 

Here's the complete list:

The wait is finally over as India's final 15-member squad was announced at the BCCI headquarters in Mumbai. The squad which was named for the showpiece event consist of players who have been in the team since almost a couple of years i.e. post the ICC Champions Trophy in 2017.

With No.4 spot being India's biggest concern since the 2015 World Cup, Ambati Rayudu, Dinesh Karthik and Vijay Shankar will be vying fo the spot. However, since the 2017 ICC Champions Trophy, 11 batsmen have been tried and tested but neither of them could succeed in consolidating the No.4 spot.

Before India, defending champions Australia and runners-up of the last edition New Zealand had already announced their 15-member squad for the quadrennial event in the UK. 

As per the ICC's guidelines, the last date for all the teams to announce their final World Cup squad is April 23. 

The 12th edition of the World Cup will be played in England & Wales, in the United Kingdom. The quadrennial event will commence from May 30 as England will lock horns against South Africa at the Oval. The final will be played on July 14 at the Lord's with a reserve day on July 15.

India will begin their World Cup campaign on June 5 against South Africa at Southampton.