Comedy Of Error: Karthik And Uthappa Go For Same Catch, Drop It After Collision. Watch Viral Video

Cricket News

Uthappa, however, was caught on tape, telling Karthik 'he had called for catch'.

Written By Daamini Sharma | Mumbai | Updated On:

KKR wicketkeeper-captain Dinesh Karthik and batsman Robin Uthappa dropped MI all-rounder Krunal Pandya's catch on the bowling of spinner Piyush Chawla in 16th over of their IPL 2019 match. Krunal top-edged a googly after which the ball ballooned into the off-side and both Karthik and Uthappa went for the catch. Uthappa was ready to grab the ball when Karthik, completely oblivious of his surrounding, collided with his team mate. As a result, the catch was droped. 

Uthappa, however, was caught on tape, telling Karthik 'he had called for catch'.

(Click here to watch the video)

WATCH: This Was Virat Kohli's Hilarious Reaction After Losing His Ninth Toss In 12 IPL Games

Moreover, Rohit Sharma was fined 15 per cent of his match fees  for breaching the VIVO Indian Premier League's (IPL) Code of Conduct by hitting the bails. 

"Rohit Sharma, the Mumbai Indians batsman and captain, was fined 15 percent of his match fees for breaching the VIVO Indian Premier League's (IPL) Code of Conduct during his team's match against Kolkata Knight Riders at Kolkata," an IPL media advisory read.

During the hearing with the match referee after the game, Rohit accepted the sanction.

"Mr. Sharma admitted to the Level 1 offence 2.2 of the IPL's Code of Conduct and accepted the sanction."

Hardik Pandya's stunning knock of 91 off just 34 balls gave Mumbai Indians a glimmer of hope but other MI players failed to make a meaningful contribution. In the end, Kolkata Knight Riders snapped their six-match losing streak with the 34-run win and kept their hopes alive of reaching the playoffs.

Published:
By 2030, 40% Indian will not have access to drinking water
SAVE WATER NOW
PEOPLE HAVE PLEDGED SO FAR
DO NOT MISS