Cricket News

Cricketer Ambati Rayudu Gets Two-match Suspension For Violating BCCI's Code Of Conduct

Written By Saniya Rao | Mumbai | Published:

Hack:

  • Ambati Rayudu was on Wednesday handed a two-match suspension for breaching the BCCI Code of Conduct
  • The match took place on January 11 at Dr. YS Rajasekhara Reddy ACA-VDCA Cricket Stadium.
  • Rayudu will now be prohibited from participating in the next two matches for his team in the tournament.

Indian cricket team player and skipper of Hyderabad cricket team Ambati Rayudu was on Wednesday handed a two-match suspension for breaching the BCCI Code of Conduct during the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy match between Hyderabad and Karnataka. The match took place on January 11 at Dr. YS Rajasekhara Reddy ACA-VDCA Cricket Stadium.

Rayudu will now be prohibited from participating in the next two matches for his team in the tournament.

READ: BCCI Issues Notice To Hyderabad Captain Ambati Rayudu

According to a statement by BCCI’s acting secretary, Amitabh Choudhary,

“Rayudu pleaded guilty to the offense and accepted the sanction proposed by BCCI and, as such, there was no need for a formal hearing.”

The statement further adds that the charges were leveled by the on-field umpires — Abhijit Deshmukh and Ulhas Vithalrao Gandhe —  along with the third umpire, Anil Dandekar.  The BCCI is also probing into the role of Hyderabad Team Manager in this incident.  

On January 11, the Karnataka team edged past Hyderabad by two runs in a Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy Twenty20 match.

However, a thrilling last-ball finish was marred by an unwanted protest and arguments after two runs were added to Karnataka's total at the end of the innings.

WATCH: Ambati Rayudu Assaults Senior Citizen

READ: IPL Auction: Here Is The List Of Players In Chennai Super Kings

The decision to add runs was taken during the innings break after the umpires were made aware of an error during the second over of the match.

Hyderabad's deep mid-wicket fielder Mehdi Hasan's foot touched the ropes, but the on-field umpires did not check with the third umpire and signalled two instead of a boundary to Karun Nair.

Following the replays, the officials came to know that Hasan had made contact with the rope while retrieving the ball and, therefore, decided to add the runs to Karnataka's tally at the end of their batting effort. However, the umpire's call irked Rayudu and his teammates, who stood in the field following the match and started demanding for a "super over" despite Karnataka being adjudged as the eventual winners.

Below Article Thumbnails
DO NOT MISS