Cricket News

GST The Reason Behind India's Defeat To Australia, Feels Virender Sehwag

Written By Narayan R | Mumbai | Published:

Hack:

  • Virender Sehwag has stated that GST is the reason behind India's defeat against Australia in the first T20I at Brisbane
  • Australia beat India by four runs in the first T20I of the three-match series at Brisbane on Wednesday

Australia beat India by four runs in the first T20I of the three-match series at Brisbane on Wednesday. The two teams put up a great show, and in a rain-hit fixture which became 17 overs a-side match, spectators saw some breathtaking action.

The hosts had posted 158 for 4 in their 17 overs thanks to some sensational hitting by Chris Lynn and Glenn Maxwell. For India, the target had gone up by 16 runs to 174 due to the DLS. Despite some blistering stroke play by Shikhar Dhawan and Dinesh Karthik, the visitors fell short by a boundary-mark.

While many have termed the DLS factor behind India's defeat, former Indian opener Virender Sehwag feels different. The 'Nawab of Najafgarh', rather than using the DLS term, has stated that India fell short of the target because 'GST was added' to Australia's score. His hilarious message on Twitter read,

"India scoring more than Australia yet losing. Australia ke score par laga GST bhaari pad gaya. But a good thrilling game to start the series. #AUSvIND"

READ: Twitterati Slam Australian Wicket-keeper Alex Carey For Trying To Cheat And Get KL Rahul Dismissed

While there were a number of talking points in the match, including the brilliant batting by Maxwell,Dhawan and brilliant bowling by Kuldeep Yadav and Adam Zampa, the one which stood out, for the wrong reasons, was the incident involving Alex Carey. 

A ball from Zampa was hit on the offside by KL Rahul, but when he looked back, the bails lit up and fell down. There was some confusion as to how that happened, with the Australian players claiming the batsman had clipped the stumps by his bat. The man behind the stumps, Carey, also seemed unsure of what had happened, hence, the decision went to the third umpire.

The replays suggested daylight between bat and stumps, and that it was Carey who had knocked the bails out. The match went on in normal fashion, but people on social media were left furious with the act of the Australian wicket-keeper.

DO NOT MISS