IND Vs SA Test Series: When Will The Matches Begin And Where To Watch?

Cricket News

IND vs SA: The highly-anticipated India vs South Africa Test series begins on Wednesday. Take a look at the series schedule and details about watching it live.

Written By Mrigank Pandey | Mumbai | Updated On:
ind vs sa

The South Africa tour of India is now switching to the Test series. The T20I series between the two teams was drawn and the captains will now be looking forward to winning the Test Series as ICC World Test Championship points are on the line. The Test series will consist of three matches with the first match starting on October 2 at Visakhapatnam. Virat Kohli will be captaining the Indian side, while Faf du Plessis leads the Proteas charge.

ALSO READ | India's playing 11 for first Test against South Africa out; Saha in

Schedule and Where to watch

  • October 2 - October 6: First Test - Visakhapatnam - 9:30 AM
  • October 10 - October 14: Second Test - Pune - 9:30 AM
  • October 19 - October 23: Third Test - Ranchi - 9:30 AM

The match broadcast is available on the Star Sports Network in India on Television and on Hotstar if you are looking for streaming options. 

ALSO READ | Opportunity for Rohit Sharma to save Test career as India face Proteas

India will look to solidify their lead

The Indian team is coming off positive momentum from the West Indies Test series where they whitewashed the Windies at their home. India are currently on top of the World Test Championship points table with 120 points to their credit. Kohli is en route to becoming the fastest batsman to score 21,000 international runs. Kohli only needs 281 runs to get to that number. It was also just announced that Wriddhiman Saha will be keeping wickets ahead of Rishabh Pant. This comes after Pant's struggles with the bat in recent matches. 

ALSO READ | World Cup | 'Would like Rohit Sharma to lead India in 2023 World Cup', says former Team India cricketer Wasim Jaffer

Full Squads


Virat Kohli(captain), Wriddhiman Saha(wicketkeeper), Rohit Sharma, Mayank Agarwal, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane, Hanuma Vihari, Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ishant Sharma, Mohammed Shami, Rishabh Pant, Shubman Gill, Kuldeep Yadav, and Umesh Yadav.

South Africa:

Faf du Plessis(captain), Quinton de Kock(wicketkeeper), Aiden Markram, Dean Elgar, Theunis de Bruyn, Temba Bavuma, Zubayr Hamza, Vernon Philander, Keshav Maharaj, Kagiso Rabada, Lungi Ngidi, Dane Piedt, Heinrich Klaasen, Anrich Nortje, and Senuran Muthusamy.

ALSO READ | Former India cricketer VB Chandrasekhar's death a case of suicide: Police

By 2030, 40% Indians will not have access to drinking water