The result in Monday's encounter between Rajasthan Royals and Kings XI Punjab has been largely overshadowed by a heated 'Mankading' controversy involving Punjab skipper Ravichandran Ashwin and Rajasthan opening batsman Jos Buttler.
The incident happened in the 13th over of the Rajasthan innings when Ashwin dislodged the bails at the non-strikers end after he saw Jos Buttler walking down the pitch. He appealed instantly and the decision went in the off-spinner's favour. Punjab celebrated while a shell-shocked Jos Buttler walked back to the dugout after scoring a quickfire 43-ball 69 which included 10 fours and two sixes.
While some criticized Ashwin for his action on Twitter, there were people who backed him.
Since the incident, 'Mankading' has become a country-wide topic of discussion. The term applies when a bowler runs-out a batsman who leaves the crease before the ball is bowled. This was named after the legendary Indian all-rounder Vinoo Mankad who had ran-out Australian batsman Bill Brown in 1947 after the latter had come out of his crease before Mankad had bowled. However, in this type of a dismissal, a batsman is usually given a warning.
The Laws of Cricket 41.16 states that a “Non-striker leaving his/her ground early: If the non-striker is out of his/her ground from the moment the ball comes into play to the instant when the bowler would normally have been expected to release the ball, the bowler is permitted to attempt to run him/her out. Whether the attempt is successful or not, the ball shall not count as one in the over.”
Both Ashwin and Buttler have been involved in the 'Mankading' incident before. Ashwin had tried to run out Sri Lanka's Lahiru Thirimanne during the 2012 tri-series in Australia. However, Virender Sehwag who was captaining India in that game withdrew the appeal and the umpires signalled it as a dead ball.
Meanwhile, Buttler was also involved in this incident during the 2014 ODI series against Sri Lanka when he was 'Mankaded' by Sri Lankan off-spinner Sachitra Senanayake. Nonetheless, Senanayake had already warned him in the previous over.