MASSIVE CONTROVERSY: New Zealand's Daryl Mitchell Given Out Despite Hot Spot Indicating Clear Edge

Cricket News

Kane Williamson, standing at the other end, was stunned by the call and protested the decision given by the third umpire

Written By Narayan R | Mumbai | Updated On:

Controversy struck the second T20I between New Zealand and India in Auckland on Friday as Daryl Mitchell was given out leg before wicket by the umpires despite DRS clearly indicating that the ball had hit the bat before hitting the pads.

The incident took place in the final ball of the sixth over of the first innings. Krunal Pandya bowled a quicker one, which struck the pads of Mitchell. The on-field umpires ruled it out, but the batsman, after a chat with his skipper Kane Williamson at the other end, chose to review the decision.

Replays clearly suggested that there was a small nick of the bat before the ball hit the pads. But the third umpire, inexplicably, overlooked it and went ahead to ball tracking, which showed three reds.

Williamson, standing at the other end, was stunned by the call, and protested the decision given by the third umpire. After a small delay, the on-field umpires went ahead with the DRS decision, and sent the batsman back to the pavilion.

The Twitterati were left shocked and equally stunned by the poor decision by the umpires, despite a clear edge caught on cameras.

WATCH: MS Dhoni Masterminds Colin Munro's Dismissal By Instructing Krunal Pandya On How To Bowl

At the time of the dismissal, New Zealand, after having won the toss, were 43 for 3. They lead the three-match T20I series 1-0 after having registered a 80-run win the in the first T20I in Wellington.

Published:
By 2030, 40% Indian will not have access to drinking water
SAVE WATER NOW
PEOPLE HAVE PLEDGED SO FAR
DO NOT MISS