MSK Prasad Reveals His Biggest Regret During National Chief Selector Tenure

Cricket News

BCCI President Sourav Ganguly announced for a fresh selection panel at the board's AGM recently. MSK Prasad was previously appointed as chief selector in 2016

Written By Aakash Saini | Mumbai | Updated On:
MSK Prasad

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) President Sourav Ganguly recently announced that a fresh selection committee for the future. Former Indian cricketer MSK Prasad previously served as the chief national selector since his appointment on 2016. Prasad led a committee which also included Jatin Paranjpe, Sarandeep Singh and Devang Gandhi.

Also Read | India Vs World XI T20 Match Could Be First Game At New Motera Stadium

MSK Prasad reveals biggest regret during selection tenure

While speaking with a leading Indian media daily, MSK Prasad reflected upon India’s performance during his tenure as chief selector. In the interview, he described India’s overseas series defeats in England and South Africa as his biggest regrets. He went on to add that the Indian team deserved to win on both occasions because of the way they contested in the series. He recalled the close contests in Edgbaston, Southampton as well as Cape Town which did not go India’s way.

Also Read | Ricky Ponting Expresses His Displeasure Over Umpire's Inability To Spot No-balls

Apart from his regrets, MSK Prasad also spoke about the biggest achievements of the national team under his regime. He reminded everyone about the ODI series wins in New Zealand, Australia and South Africa. He also added that the No.1 ranking in Test cricket was the most satisfying achievement for him.

Also Read | Sri Lanka 'safe' To Tour For England, According To Kumar Sangakkara

India vs West Indies 2019

Meanwhile, India will now host West Indies in the upcoming limited-overs series in December. West Indies tour of India will begin with the first of three T20Is on December 6 at the Rajiv Gandhi International Cricket Stadium in Hyderabad. Overall, West Indies will play three T20Is and three ODIs over the course of 16 days in the country. The opening T20 clash on December 6 will be followed by two more fixtures on December 8 and December 11. The ODI series will then be played between December 15 and December 22.

Also Read | Virat Kohli, AB De Villiers Are My Dream Wickets: Pakistan Pacer Usman Shinwari

By 2030, 40% Indians will not have access to drinking water