Cricket News

MUST WATCH: Virat Kohli Gives Bangladesh Opener Soumya Sarkar An Intense And Aggressive Send-off After DRS Review Face-off

Written By Aishwaria Sonavane | Mumbai | Published:

Hack:

  • Hardik Pandya bowled one outside the line of off stump as Sarkar slashed it and the bowl landed on Kohli's hand
  • Earlier in the 12th over during the Bangladesh innings, bowler Mohammad Shami hit Sarkar on the pads, resulting in a huge appeal from the Indian side.

Virat Kohli gave a zealous send-off to Bangladesh opener Soumya Sarkar in the first delivery of the 16th over by Hardik Pandya after being caught by the Indian skipper himself. 

Pandya bowled one outside the line of off stump as Sarkar slashed it and the bowl landed on Kohli's hand, and after taking the catch, Kohli pointed at the batsman and in an animated celebration of the wicket signaled him that he was out.

World Cup 2019: Virat Kohli Seeks Blessings Of The 87-year-old Fan After India's Victory. Here's What The Indian Skipper Had To Say About Her

Following which, the Indian skipper faced the irk of the umpires who asked him to tone down his aggression, along with vice-captain Rohit Sharma, meanwhile, the batsman could be seen completely lost for a few seconds before he left the field. 

Earlier in the 12th over during the Bangladesh innings, bowler Mohammad Shami hit Sarkar on the pads, resulting in a huge appeal from the Indian side. However, third umpire Aleem Dar refused to overturn the umpire's 'not out' decision and India lost its only review. Unhappy with the decision, the Indian skipper got into an argument with the umpires on the field. 

Prior to this, Kohli was found guilty of breaching ICC's Code of Conduct and was fined 25% of his match fee. On Saturday, Kohli was found to have breached Article 2.1 of the ICC Code of Conduct for Players and Player Support Personnel, which relates to Éxcessive appealing during an International match.

The incident happened during the 29th over of Afghanistan's run chase when Kohli advanced towards umpire Aleem Dar in an aggressive manner when appealing for an lbw decision. The Indian captain admitted the offence and accepted the sanction proposed by match referee Chris Broad of the Emirates ICC Elite Panel of Match Referees, and as such, there was no need for a formal hearing.

Team India earned their semifinal spot after a 28-run win over Bangladesh in their ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 clash at Edgbaston in Birmingham on Tuesday. The Men In Blue thus became the second team after reigning five-time World Champions Australia to book their place in the last four. 

World Cup 2019 | WATCH: Ravindra Jadeja's Stunningly Unbelievable Catch Against England Draws A Mighty Fist Pump From Virat Kohli, Netizens Hail 'Sir Jadeja'

DO NOT MISS