Cricket News

Scoop: Virat Kohli Took U-turn On Windies Tour 'rest' To Secure Team India Captaincy Amid Split Call

Written By Digital Desk | Mumbai | Published:


  • Virat Kohli took a u-turn on 'resting himself' for the Windies tour to secure his captaincy, a selection committee member has said
  • There had been calls for 'split captaincy' between Kohli and Rohit Sharma
  • Kohli has been retained as captain of Team India across formats

After an unsuccessful but spirited campaign in the World Cup, there were rumours doing the rounds that India will play with different captains for the Test, ODI and T20, with many wondering if vice-captain Rohit Sharma will be given the limited-overs captaincy while Kohli will lead the Test side. 

But the selection committee put these rumours to rest after the teams were announced for the West Indies tour. 

What is interesting to see is that Virat Kohli, who had earlier allegedly requested the selectors to rest him for the Carribean tour, was named captain across formats. In a big revelation, a member from the selection committee has said that Virat Kohli took a u-turn on resting himself from the Windies tour in order to secure the captaincy. Rohit Sharma’s phenomenal performance at the World Cup attributed to his growing stature as one of the world's best batsman and perhaps an equally competent captain. There had been calls from some quarters for a 'split captaincy' and in order to avert such a decision, Kohli, taking cognisance, has decided to travel to the West Indies. 

READ | SCOOP: No Split-captaincy Of Team India, Virat Kohli To Remain Skipper. Details Of BCCI's Upcoming West Indies Tour Meeting Here

The much-awaited selection meeting for the upcoming West Indies tour took place on Sunday and the squad for all three formats was announced. The team that was announced for the limited-overs formats saw many young faces, including the likes of Manish Pandey, Shreyas Iyer, Rishab Pant, Krunal Pandya, Washington Sunder, Khaleel Ahmed, Deepak Chahar, and Navdeep Saini while the Test squad saw few new faces being included. Skipper Virat Kohli is set to lead the team in all three formats of the game. 

Here are the squads for the tour: 

Test squad: Mayank Agarwal, KL Rahul, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli, Ajinkya Rahane ( VC), Hanuma Vihari, Rohit Sharma, Rishab Pant, Wriddhiman Saha, R Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Kuldeep Yadav, Ishant Sharma, M Shami, Jasprit Bumrah, Umesh Yadav  

ODI squad: Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul, Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Rishab Pant, Ravindra Jadeja, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kedar Jadhav, M Shami, Bhuvaneshwar Kumar, Khaleel Ahmed, Navdeep Saini 

T20I squad: Virat Kohli, Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, KL Rahul, Manish Pandey, Shreyas Iyer, Rishab Pant, Krunal Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Washington Sunder, Rahul Chahar, Bhuvaneshwar Kumar, Khaleel Ahmed, Deepak Chahar, Navdeep Saini

READ | Indian Squad For West Indies Tour Announced, Rishabh Pant Keeper In All 3 Formats. Details Here