Tie Or No Tie? Virender Sehwag's Conclusion On The World Cup Final Gets Challenged By England's Michael Vaughan

Cricket News

Former England skipper Michael Vaughan was on the seventh heaven after England were crowned the new World champions, ending their 44-year wait. The World Cup hosts clinched their maiden World Cup title after the long-forgotten boundary count rule was used to decide the winner of the contest as the match was tied in the Super Over. 

Written By Koushik Narayanan | Mumbai | Updated On:

Former England skipper Michael Vaughan was on the seventh heaven after England were crowned the new World champions, ending their 44-year wait. The World Cup hosts clinched their maiden World Cup title after the long-forgotten boundary count rule was used to decide the winner of the contest as the match was tied in the Super Over. 

Ever since England's victory, Vaughan has been extremely active on social media, responding to the wishes and congratulatory messages of fans and former cricketers. The one thing the former England skipper could not digest was the fact that the match was a tie and that the winner of the match was decided based on which side scored more boundaries during their innings. 

Vaughan took to Twitter to reply to former Indian opener Virender Sehwag's tweet about New Zealand skipper Kane Williamson smiling after the 'tie'. Sehwag had shared a picture of the Kiwis skipper and had said that the Black Caps had won more fans from India after their performance in the final.      

Read Sehwag's tweet here:

READ | BIG: New Zealand Coach Breaks Silence On Controversial World Cup Final Loss To England, Calls For Rules Review

Vaughan replied to Sehwag's tweet, saying that he agreed with the latter on the idea of Kane Williamson being the ambassador of the game. However, he denied the final to have been a tied match. 

Read Vaughan's reply to Sehwag's tweet here: 

Cricketers, current and former, shared New Zealand's pain on losing the title on boundary count with many of them asking for a "serious look" into the rule, slammed as "absurd".

"No one lost the final," New Zealand skipper Kane Williamson said on Tuesday as his team tried coming to terms with the gut-wrenching defeat against England in the World Cup's greatest summit clash.

"At the end of the day nothing separated us, no one lost the final, but there was a crowned winner and there it is," Williamson told Newstalk ZB.

READ | World Cup | 'No One Lost The Final But A Winner Was Crowned': New Zealand Skipper Kane Williamson On Controversial Loss To England

 

 

 

Published:
By 2030, 40% Indian will not have access to drinking water
SAVE WATER NOW
PEOPLE HAVE PLEDGED SO FAR
DO NOT MISS