Cricket News

Twitterati Slam Australian Wicket-keeper Alex Carey For Trying To Cheat And Get KL Rahul Dismissed

Written By Narayan R | Mumbai | Published:

Hack:

  • A ball from Zampa was hit on the offside by KL Rahul, but when he looked back, the bails lit up and fell down
  • Replays showed that Alex Carey had knocked the bails from his hand

The first T20I between Australia and India on Wednesday was an enthralling affair. Both the teams put on a brilliant performance, and barring the slight rain and few misfield's, the two teams put a show for the packed Brisbane crowd. 

During the match, there were a number of talking points. Right from some hard hitting by Glenn Maxwell, Shikhar Dhawan, Dinesh Karthik to some outstanding bowling by Kuldeep Yadav and Adam Zampa, the match had it all. But the one moment which stood out, unfortunately for all the wrong reasons, was the incident involving Australian wicket-keeper Alex Carey. 

A ball from Zampa was hit on the offside by KL Rahul, but when he looked back, the bails lit up and fell down. There was some confusion as to how that happened, with the Australian players claiming the batsman had clipped the stumps by his bat. The man behind the stumps, Carey, also seemed unsure of what had happened, hence, the decision went to the third umpire.

The replays suggested daylight between bat and stumps, and that it was Carey who had knocked the bails out. The match went on in normal fashion, but people on social media were left furious with the act of the Australian wicket-keeper.

READ: No Reduction In Bans Of Steven Smith, David Warner And Cameron Bancroft, Confirms CA

Batting first, Australia posted 158 for 4 in 17 overs, after the rain did not allow the completion of all the overs. The revised target for India became 174, and they feel short by 4 runs, despite blistering batting display by Shikhar Dhawan and Dinesh Karthik.

DO NOT MISS