Last Updated:

UPW Vs MI, WPL 2023 Highlights: Harmanpreet Kaur Lead The Way In 8-wicket Win For Mumbai

UP Warriorz lose to Mumbai Indians by 8 wickets. Harmanpreet Kaur played a captain's knock for her side with contributions from Nat Sciver-Brunt and Yastika Bhatia.

Cricket News
| Written By
Vishal Tiwari
WPL 2023

Image: BCCI

23:13 IST, March 12th 2023
Harmanpreet Kaur gets POTM award.

Harmanpreet Kaur has been named the player of the match for her explosive batting. She smashed an unbeaten 53 off 33 balls. 

"Very happy with the performance. I can't be thankful enough, the way we are playing and we are gelling together. This is the best tournament so far. After six overs, the ball started turning in the second innings. I was a little surprised with that. Thanks to Nat, she played really well. I got time to settle in. The way they were batting, we were a little tense. But I knew that if we are able to take one or two wickets, we could stop them, because we knew Harris was not playing and they didn't have anyone who could hit hard. Saika's over was the turning point. She has been the one taking responsibility. These things happen, but I have trust on her. That is why I brought her back and she got crucial wickets." 

23:04 IST, March 12th 2023
WPL 2023: Points table

This is what the WPL 2023 points table looks like after Match 10 on Sunday. Mumbai on top with 4 wins in 4 games, followed by Delhi, UP, Gujarat, and Bangalore. 


23:01 IST, March 12th 2023
Healy after the loss!

UP Warriorz Alyssa Healy after the 8-wicket loss to Mumbai Indians in Match 10 of WPL 2023. 

"I think we were probably 15-20 runs short. We needed a set batter at the end. It was as scratchy as it comes for me. It wasn't easy. We didn't score as many boundaries as the Mumbai Indians did. We also bowled too much junk and gave too many boundaries. We just have to see how we can do well with the players available. We have some bowlers on the bench and Harris as well. No prizes for being a good human is it? When an lbw that is not out is given out and Harmanpreet is bowled but the bails don't fall. We want to be a really good fielding side and she [Simran Shaikh] put her hands up and apologised and she did some good things on the field after that"

22:57 IST, March 12th 2023
Mumbai Indians win by 8 wickets!

Mumbai Indians have defeated UP Warriorz by 8 wickets.

22:57 IST, March 12th 2023
Kaur, Sciver-Brunt lead the way in dominant win for Mumbai!

Harmanpreet Kaur (53) and Nat Sciver-Brunt (45) lead the way in a dominant win for Mumbai Indians in their match against UP Warriorz. They forged a 106-run unbeaten partnership to help with the chase. 

22:51 IST, March 12th 2023
Harmanpreet Kaur scores another WPL fifty!

Harmanpreet Kaur has smashed her second WPL half-century on her way to securing yet another potential victory for Mumbai Indians. She now has scores of 65, DNB, 11*, and 53* across four matches for MI. 

22:31 IST, March 12th 2023
Hayley goes for 12!

Hayley Matthews was dismissed for 12 off 17 balls by Sophie Ecclestone. Mumbai Indians are 58/2 in 7.2 overs. 

22:04 IST, March 12th 2023
Yastika Bhatia dismissed for 42 by Rajeshwari Gayakwad!

Yastika Bhatia has been dismissed by Rajeshwari Gayakwad for 42 off 27 balls. She hit 8 boundaries and 1 six at a strike rate of 155. Mumbai Indians are 58/2 in 7.2 overs. 

21:51 IST, March 12th 2023
Confusion in the middle!

UP Warriorz review thinking it is pad first and then the bat. The review shows the ball hitting the shoe first. The umpire calls it out. But the twist, the big screen shows a different ball on review. Turns out, it was the bat first and then the shoe. The on-field umpire revokes the original decision. 

21:30 IST, March 12th 2023
Matthews, Bhatia open the batting for MI!

Hayley Matthews and Yastika Bhatia have opened the batting for Mumbai. They need 160 runs to win the match. 

21:10 IST, March 12th 2023
UPW post 159/6 in 20 overs!

UP Warriorz post 159/6 in 20 overs. Healy and McGrath do the bulk of scoring for the franchise. 

21:06 IST, March 12th 2023
Kerr picks up her 2nd wicket!

Amelia Kerr has dismissed Deepti Sharma to pick up her 2nd wicket of the match. UP Warriorz are 156/6 in 19.3 overs. 

20:58 IST, March 12th 2023
Ecclestone dismissed for 1!

Hayley Matthews has dismissed Sophie Ecclestone for 1 off 4 balls. UP Warriorz are 146/5 in 18 overs. 

20:54 IST, March 12th 2023
Ishaque picks up 3 wickets, dismisses McGrath!

Saika Ishaque has picked up three wickets in the match. She has dismissed Tahlia McGrath for 50 runs. 

20:54 IST, March 12th 2023
Healy goes for 58!

Alyssa Healy has been dismissed for 58 runs by Saika Ishaque. UP Warriorz are 140/3 in 16.3 overs. 

20:48 IST, March 12th 2023
Tahlia McGrath scores a half-century!

Tahlia McGrath has scored another half-century of her WPL career. She achieved the feat in 36 balls. UP Warriorz are 140/2 in 16.2 overs. 

20:37 IST, March 12th 2023
Healy scores another WPL fifty!

Alyssa Healy has scored yet another half-century of WPL 2023. UP Warriorz are 120/2 in 13.3 overs. 

20:34 IST, March 12th 2023
UP Warriorz cross 100-run mark!

UP Warriorz cross the 100-run mark with Alyssa Healy and Tahlia McGrath on strike. 

20:19 IST, March 12th 2023
Tahlia McGrath on fire!

Tahlia McGrath is playing superb innings for UP Warriorz. She has scored 27 off 18 balls and is providing the much-needed to help to Healy in the middle. 

20:05 IST, March 12th 2023
Amelia Kerr dismisses Navgire for 17!

Amelia Kerr has dismissed Kiran Navgire for 17 off 14 balls. UP Warriorz are 58/2 in 6.4 overs.  

19:58 IST, March 12th 2023
Healy scores 30, UPW 48/1 in 6 overs!

Alyssa Healy has scored 30 runs in the powerplay. UP Warriorz are 41/1 in 6 overs. 

19:41 IST, March 12th 2023
Vaidya dismissed by Saika Ishaque!

Devika Vaidya has been dismissed by Saika Ishaque for 6 off 5 balls. UP Warriorz are 8/1 in 2 overs. 

19:41 IST, March 12th 2023
Alyssa Healy open the batting with Devika Vaidya!

Alyssa Healy has opened the batting with Devika Vaidya in Match 10 of the WPL 2023. 

19:32 IST, March 12th 2023
UP Warriorz vs Mumbai Indians: Playing XIs

Mumbai Indians: Yastika, Matthews, Sciver-Brunt, Harmanpreet, Kerr, Gujjar, Wong, Kazi, Amanjot, Kalita, Ishaque.

UP Warriorz: Vaidya, Healy, Sehrawat, Navgire, McGrath, Deepti, Ismail, Shaikh, Ecclestone, Sarvani, Gayakwad.

19:02 IST, March 12th 2023
UPW win toss, opt to bat first

UP Warriorz captain Alyssa Healy has won the toss and elected to bat first against Mumbai Indians.  

18:06 IST, March 12th 2023
UP Warriorz vs Mumbai Indians: Predicted Playing XIs

UP Warriorz: Alyssa Healy (captain, wk), Devika Vaidya, Shweta Sehrawat, Kiran Navgire, Deepti Sharma, Tahlia McGrath, Grace Harris, Simran Shaikh, Sophie Ecclestone, Rajeshwari Gayakwad, Anjali Sarvani.

Mumbai Indians: Yastika Bhatia (wk), Hayley Matthews, Nat Sciver-Brunt, Harmanpreet Kaur (captain), Amelia Kerr/Chloe Tryon, Pooja Vastrakar, Issy Wong, Amanjot Kaur, Humaira Kazi, Jintimani Kalita, Saika Ishaque.

18:04 IST, March 12th 2023
UP Warriorz vs Mumbai Indians: Full squads

UP Warriorz: Deepti Sharma, Sophie Ecclestone, Devika Vaidya, Tahlia Mcgrath, Shabnim Ismail, Grace Harris, Alyssa Healy (c, wk), Anjali Sarvani, Rajeshwari Gayakwad, Shweta Sehrawat, Kiran Navgire, Lauren Bell, Laxmi Yadav, Parshavi Chopra, S. Yashasri, Simran Shaikh.

Mumbai Indians: Hayley Matthews, Yastika Bhatia (wk), Harmanpreet Kaur (c), Nat Sciver-Brunt, Amelia Kerr, Heather Graham, Amanjot Kaur, Humaira Kazi, Pooja Vastrakar, Priyanka Bala, Neelam Bisht, Issy Wong, Saika Ishaque, Dhara Gujjar, Sonam Yadav, Jintimani Kalita, Chloe Tryon.

Listen to the latest songs, only on