Virat Kohli Wins CEAT 'International Cricketer Of The Year'; Gayle Wins Popular Award

Cricket News

The Indian skipper scored an astonishing 2818 runs in 2017 at an average of 68.83 with 11 centuries

Written By Narayan R | Mumbai | Updated On:

Virat Kohli's exceptional year with the bat in 2017 has been rewarded, as he wins the CEAT International Cricketer of the Year award at the CEAT Cricket awards 2018. The Indian skipper scored 2818 runs across all the three formats last year. 

He though, could not collect the award in person, given his recent shoulder injury. His national teammate Rohit Sharma collected the accolade on his behalf.

Shikhar Dhawan was awarded the International Batsman of the Year, while the award for International Bowler of the Year went to New Zealand's Trent Boult. 

There were awards also kept for T20 displays. Boult's national colleague Colin Munro won the T20 Batsman of the Year. Afghanistan's Rashid Khan, who had a stellar Indian Premier League (IPL) T20, received the T20 Bowler of the Year.  

Indian Women's player Harmanpreet Kaur was recognized for her sensational knock of 171 against Australia in the ICC Women's World Cup semi-final. She was given the Outstanding Innings of the Year award.

Two young Indian batsmen also received accolades for their displays in the last year. Mayank Agarwal was given the Domestic Player of the Year, whereas young Shubhman Gill received the U-19 Player of the Year.

A couple of special awards were also presented during the event. 'Universal Boss' Chris Gayle won the Popular Choice award, whereas yesteryear wicket-keeper Farokh Engineer's contribution to the Indian cricket earned him the Lifetime Achievement award.

Following are the complete list of awards and the winners.

International Cricketer of the Year: Virat Kohli

International Batsman of the Year: Shikhar Dhawan

International Bowler of the Year: Trent Boult 

T20 Batsman of the Year: Colin Munro

T20 Bowler of the Year: Rashid Khan

Outstanding Innings of the Year: Harmanpreet Kaur

Domestic Player of The Year: Mayank Agarwal

Popular Choice Award: Chris Gayle

U-19 Player of The Year: Shubhman Gill

Lifetime Achievement Award: Farokh Engineer.

Kohli will be leading in the upcoming tour of England, where he would be hoping to move over from his 2014 tour struggles. Earlier this year, India had toured South Africa, where they lost the Test series 2-1. But the Men in Blue bounced back and won the ODI and T20I series.

By 2030, 40% Indian will not have access to drinking water