Cricket News

WATCH: Amid Tense Run-chase, MS Dhoni Loses Cool At Khaleel Ahmed In Adelaide

Written By Narayan R | Mumbai | Published:

Hack:

  • During the final few overs of India's innings, Khaleel entered the field to provide drinks to MS Dhoni and Dinesh Karthik
  • The fast bowler stepped on the pitch, which irked Dhoni, who shouted at Khaleel and even reportedly abused him

The second ODI between Australia and India in Adelaide was a tense affair, with the match going down right to the wire. Both the teams gave their 100%, but in the end, it was the cool and calm head of MS Dhoni which propelled India to a series leveling win.

For most parts of his innings, the former Indian skipper was playing his own game by not rushing things and scoring runs at a brisk pace. But at one point, Dhoni, for once, lost his cool and blasted out. At the receiving end of his backlash was the 12th man Khaleel Ahmed.

During the final few overs of India's innings, Khaleel entered the field to provide drinks to the former Indian skipper and Dinesh Karthik. Though, while doing so, the fast bowler stepped on the pitch, which irked Dhoni, who shouted at Khaleel and even hurled an abuse at the fast bowler.

Another incident which took place during the match involved Dhoni took place in the final ball of the 45th over. Following the match, a video surfaced on social media which showed how Dhoni could and should have been run-out in the 45th over, but the Australian team failed to do so, and how India should not have been awarded a single had the umpires spotted the incident!

WATCH: MS Dhoni's Blunder Goes Unnoticed As He Survives Run-out In Adelaide

In the final ball of the 45th over bowled by Nathan Lyon, Dhoni hit the ball on the leg side and ran for a single. It was an easy run, but little did the former Indian wicketkeeper know that his casual attitude could very well have costed him his wicket, and probably India the match.

As seen in the video, Dhoni failed to ground his bat or any part of his body behind the line at the non-striker's end after completing the run, meaning had the Australian team noticed that and dislodged the bails, he would have been given out. Even the umpires on the field failed to notice the incident, and the single stood.

 

DO NOT MISS