WATCH: Gautam Gambhir Makes Fun Of Himself After Embarrassing Run-out

Cricket News

After being given wrongly out in the first innings, Gautam Gambhir lost his wicket due to his own mistake in the second innings. He then went onto make fun of himself on Twitter

Written By Narayan R | Mumbai | Updated On:

The Ranji trophy fixture between Delhi and Himachal Pradesh was a bittersweet affair for homeboy Gautam Gambhir. The former skipper of his state was in a mesmerizing form in the first innings, but just when he looked set for a big score, an umpiring error cost him his wicket.

Despite being aggrieved and angry by that call, the 2007 T20 and 2011 World Cup winner came back to bat in second innings full of confidence. He reached the 40s in no time, and looked set for a well deserved half-century. But yet again, he was denied, this time due to his own mistake.

His partner at the crease then, Dhruv Shorey hit a good shot on the leg side, and an easy two was on the cards. But Gambhir took the situation so lightly, and as he was strolling back to the bowler's end, he was run-out by some quick thinking from Rishi Dhawan.

It was a needless wicket to lose, given the kind of form Gambhir was in. On the pitch, he was distraught and frustrated with himself after making himself look silly. But after the day's proceedings ended, he decided to have fun.

Taking to Twitter, the swashbucking Delhi opener made fun of himself for his dismissal using his two daughters. His post on the social media website read, "Anaiza to Aazeen: Didi, how did papa celebrate Children’s Day? Aazeen replied: Well, today in the Ranji Trophy match he got run out like a kid!!!!"

WATCH: Gautam Gambhir Infuriated After Umpire Gives Him Out

In the first innings, Gambhir was left infuriated after he was wrongly given out by the umpire. The incident took place in the first ball of the 17th over. Gambhir, who was looking well set on 44 of 49 balls, tried to defend a off-spinner by Mayank Dagar. Though, he failed to get any bat to it, and the ball lobbed to short leg. But after loud appeals by the visiting team, umpire lifted his finger. 

Gambhir was furious with the decision, and on his way, hurled a few angry words. The replays clearly suggested that there was daylight between bat and ball, and the batsman was wrongly sent back to the pavilion.

 

Published:
By 2030, 40% Indian will not have access to drinking water
SAVE WATER NOW
PEOPLE HAVE PLEDGED SO FAR
DO NOT MISS