Cricket News

WATCH: Ireland Women's Captain Breaks Down After Defeat To Pakistan

Written By Narayan R | Mumbai | Published:

Hack:

  • Following her team's 38-run defeat to Pakistan, Ireland Women's skipper Laura Delany broke down into tears at the post-match press conference of the Women's World T20 on Tuesday
  • Ireland Women's team were bowed out for 101 while chasing 140

Following her team's 38-run defeat to Pakistan, which has all but ended her country's chance of qualification to the next round, Ireland Women's skipper Laura Delany broke down into tears at the post-match press conference of the Women's World T20 on Tuesday.

Chasing 140, Ireland had made a positive start, but a major collapse resulted in the team losing their second game in a row, that too by a big margin. And following the loss, Delany regretted the way her team played, while also breaking down in the progress.

Speaking to the media after the defeat, she said, "If we were professional I wonder what the score would have been out there today to lose the match by 40 runs. I think 120-130 would be par on this wicket, unfortunately, we didn’t have enough partnerships in the middle and that cost us the game."

Victory for Pakistan meant they climbed up to third place in Group B, with two points from three matches. In their first two fixtures, they were comfortably beaten by Australia and India, while also taking a hard toll on their net run-rate.

Against India, they had a chance to win, but failed to do so much due to a 10-run penalty which was awarded to them. The Pakistani batters were warned as many as three times by the officials, who told them to avoid running on the pitch. 

READ: Women's World T20: Here's Why Pakistan Got A 10-run Penalty In Their Defeat To India

Despite the repeated warnings, they kept on making the same mistake and were made to pay heavily for it. The 10-run penalty handed to Pakistan were given as two five-run penalties for two separate incidents.

The first one took place in the first ball of the 18th over. The two batters on the field were found to be running on the field, and hence, the umpire handed the first 5-run penalty. And the second one was given for a similar incident in the final ball of the last over.

DO NOT MISS