World Cup 2019 | After An Off-day With The Bat, MS Dhoni Showcased What Only He Can Do With His Glove-work

Cricket News

ndia beat Pakistan by 89 runs (DLS) method at the Old Trafford in Manchester to continue their unbeaten run in World Cups over their arch-rivals. By the virtue of this win, India have now won all their seven World Cup matches against Pakistan.

Written By Karthik Nair | Mumbai | Updated On:
Image Courtesy: Hotstar

India beat Pakistan by 89 runs (DLS) method at the Old Trafford in Manchester to continue their unbeaten run in World Cups over their arch-rivals. By the virtue of this win, India have now won all their seven World Cup matches against Pakistan. While India's opening partnership, Rohit Sharma's superb century, Virat Kohli's strange dismissal where he walked away without edging a Mohammad Amir delivery, Vijay Shankar picking up a wicket of his very first ball and Kuldeep Yadav's outstanding delivery to get his first wicket were the talking points of this match, there was one more thing which might have gone unnoticed and that is MS Dhoni's 4G speed glove-work. The former captain's act did not dismiss any opposition batsman, but it just showed that despite not having an off-day out in the middle, he did not lose focus by any means. 

It happened in the 23rd over which was bowled by Yuzvendra Chahal. On the fifth delivery, Babar Azam guided the ball towards the point region and set for a single. But, Indian skipper Virat Kohli put in a good dive and fielded the ball well at the point. He collected the ball and threw it straight to MS Dhoni who in his unique style dislodged the bails with one hand at the speed of light. By then, Fakhar Zaman had already made his ground. 

Mahi had also indulged in a lightning-fast stumping chance to dismiss Fakhar Zaman, but it did not work out either as the Pakistani opener showed a great presence of mind and grounded his feet on time.

READ: World Cup 2019: Was Virat Kohli's Instinct About This DRS Call Versus Pakistan More Correct Than MS Dhoni?

Earlier, Dhoni was dismissed for 1 by Pakistani pacer Mohammad Amir. He then had an off day behind the stumps as well as he got the DRS wrong on one occasion. It happened in the 19th over which was bowled by Yuzvendra Chahal. 

Chahal's flatter delivery took Babar by surprise as the Pakistani batsman completely failed to judge this brilliant delivery. An appeal was made by the Indian players, but the umpire gave it not out. Nonetheless, Chahal looked convinced and urged his captain Virat Kohli to go for a review who himself was confident. Before taking a decision, Kohli approached MS Dhoni to seek his opinion, who did not look convinced as he felt that the ball had hit the bat first and then struck the pads.

However, replays showed that the ball had hit the pads first and would have gone on to hit the off stump. Meanwhile, skipper Kohli did not look pleased. 

READ: World Cup 2019 | ‘What Mindset Is This?’: Shoaib Akhtar Lashes Out At Hasan Ali After Pakistan's Lacklustre Defeat Against India

Published:
By 2030, 40% Indian will not have access to drinking water
SAVE WATER NOW
PEOPLE HAVE PLEDGED SO FAR
DO NOT MISS