World T20 2020: ICC Announces The One-year Countdown To The Next Event

Cricket News

World T20 will take place in Australia next year as ICC has begun a one-year countdown for the biggest event in the game's shortest format where 12 teams play.

Written By Karthik Nair | Mumbai | Updated On:
World T20

The World T20 has been one of the premier ICC tournaments of the world cricket which has garnered a lot of interest among the viewers ever since its inception. Just like the ICC Cricket World Cup and the ICC Champions Trophy, even the ICC World T20 has a tremendous impact as the best is crowned the world champions of the shortest format of the game. The last edition of the tournament was hosted in India in 2016 where the West Indies had won their record second T20 world title by overcoming England in the final. The next edition will be held in Australia in 2020. 

READ: Sourav Ganguly: BCCI President-elect to be felicitated by CAB

The countdown begins for the WT20 2020

Exactly one year is left for the seventh edition of the ICC World T20 to kick off in Australia. This was also announced by the governing body of world cricket International Cricket Council (ICC) on their official Twitter handle as well.

2014 winners Sri Lanka will start the tournament by playing a qualifier at the Kardinia Park, South Geelong. Only Sri Lanka and Bangladesh will have to play the qualifiers while the other 10 teams will play the Super 12. Hosts Australia will begin the Super 12 with a clash against the top-ranked T20I side Pakistan on October 24, 2020, at the Sydney Cricket Ground while India will begin their campaign on the very same night against South Africa at Perth. The top two teams from group 1 and 2 will advance to the semi-finals. The first semi-final will be played at the Sydney Cricket Ground on November 11 while the second one will be played on November 12 at the Adelaide Oval. The final will be played on November 15 at the Melbourne Cricket Ground. 

READ: Ind vs SA third Test: India eye clean sweep, SA aim for points

Hunt for the silverware

All the teams will be hungry to win the biggest prize in T20 cricket. Hosts Australia will be eyeing to win their maiden World T20 title as they will be banking on home advantage. The last time they had co-hosted the 50-over World Cup, they ended up winning their record fifth world title. Australia's arch-rivals England will be looking to add yet another ICC trophy in their cabinet after their maiden World Cup triumph at home earlier this year. Thus, they will not only be hoping to win their second World T20 but will also be eager to erase the bitter memories of their shameful 2015 World Cup exit. South Africa, who are currently in transition will be looking to showcase a good performance and end their dismal run in ICC events. The Kane Williamson-led New Zealand will be eager to go one step further and end their quest for a silverware since 2000. Meanwhile, the Kiwis would wish to overcome the heartbreaking World Cup final loss. Pakistan, who have been the top-ranked side in the game's shortest format for over a year would be looking to add another ICC trophy in their cabinet. 

However, India would be desperate to end their ICC title drought by winning the World T20 trophy Down Under under the captaincy of Virat Kohli. The Men In Blue had won the inaugural edition and had reached the finals in 2014. Their last win at an ICC event had come way back in 2013 when they beat the hosts England to win their second ICC Champions Trophy. Since then, India have managed to reach the semi-finals and finals of the ICC tournaments but failed to lay their hands on the trophy. Team India had suffered a heartbreaking loss in the semis of World Cup 2019 against New Zealand. 

READ: Ind vs SA 3rd Test: Faf du Plessis to not walk out for toss in Ranchi

READ: Yuvraj Singh in final negotiations to join Abu Dhabi T10 League

By 2030, 40% Indians will not have access to drinking water