Are you feeling ignored on WhatsApp lately, especially by the person who used to regularly have a chat conversation with you? If your answer is yes, there is a good chance that you have been blocked by that person. Finding out if someone has actually blocked you on WhatsApp is not that easy. WhatsApp has made it difficult to figure out whether you have been blocked or someone is just ignoring you. One way to find out is of course by calling the person - if you are in for an awkward conversation. If not, we have some tips to help you figure out if someone has blocked you on WhatsApp.
Last seen or online in the chat window
For starters, the obvious indication is people’s 'last seen' or status whether they are online. 'Last seen' refers to the last time your contact used WhatsApp. Similarly, if your contact is online, that means he or she has WhatsApp running on the phone in the foreground. If the person has blocked you, you will not be able to see his/her last seen or online. Hence, this happens to be one of the ways to find out if you have been blocked on WhatsApp. But do remember that users can also hide their last seen from showing to their contacts. In that case, this trick will not be a full-proof assessment in figuring out the truth. Hence, comes the next trick.
Profile picture updates
The next obvious indication comes in the form of profile pictures. Some people frequently change their profile picture while many stick to the same picture literally for years. If you have been blocked by someone, you will not be able to see that person’s profile pictures. Sometimes in such a case, WhatsApp pulls a contact’s default profile picture from either Google account or locally saved contact picture. In either case, it is somewhat hard to know if that’s the actual profile picture set by your contact or the default contact picture stored locally. However, if you are not able to see a profile picture or last seen altogether, chances are higher that you have been blocked by the person on WhatsApp.
It is completely possible that a person may have simply decided to keep his or her profile picture hidden from showing to WhatsApp users in general. In that case, you have to keep looking for other signs that we are going to discuss next in this article.
Message check mark
A check mark on each message plays a very important role in a WhatsApp conversation. A message you send to a contact who has blocked you on WhatsApp will only show one check mark, indicating the message is sent. Your messages get the second check mark only when they are successfully delivered. In case someone has blocked you on WhatsApp, you will not see a second check mark on any message sent to that particular contact. Hence, if none of you are messages are getting delivered to someone, there may be a possibility that you have been blocked by that person. Do remember that a second check will not appear on messages sent to someone if he or she is not connected to data or Wi-Fi. This is where our next tip might come in handy.
WhatsApp Group message
Well, unlike all the tips we have mentioned so far, this is more useful to know if someone is rather ignoring you on WhatsApp. WhatsApp’s blue check mark let users find out if their message is read or simply seen. But users also have the ability to explicitly turn off the read receipts. So, to be doubly sure, you can simply send a message to a mutual group on WhatsApp. You should know that turning off read receipts doesn’t work for group conversations. So, if the person you are trying to reach is reading messages sent on the group unlike personal chat, there's a pretty good chance that he or she has blocked you.