Apple has finally released its iOS 13 update and one thing that everybody would probably want to know right now is how it handles users' privacy and security? Recently, a security researcher discovered and reported a flaw in iOS that exposes iPhone users' contact details without requiring any authentication or identification. Apple has already acknowledged the flaw and promised a fix in the next update, which is iOS 13.1. With that said, we show you how to make the most of the new privacy and security features in iOS 13.
Starting with iOS 13, Apple is offering an alternative to Google and Facebook third-party sign-in options: Sign in with Apple. Apple promises it won’t track you when you use “Sign in with Apple.” Interestingly, Apple allows users to mask their real email address. In fact, Apple can give you a new, unique email for every service you use, and will automatically forward messages to your own email account.
Unlike before, Apple will let you grant location permission temporarily. If you close the app or restart the phone, you will have to grant permission again. After you’ve used an app for a while, the phone will prompt you with details on where and how many times it has tapped your location.
Apps that are denied location access might still be able to track your location through Bluetooth connections. Apps that have been updated for iOS 13 must tell you specifically why they need Bluetooth. Apple is also cracking down on apps’ ability to track your location by identifying nearby Wi-Fi networks, which can be matched to location databases.
When sharing photos through the Photos app, you can now remove embedded location information by tapping on the small “Options” link at the top of the screen. Location is shared by default, and you need to turn it off each time. You can also disable the camera’s ability to embed location information, to begin with.
A new setting in iOS 13 allows users to silence unknown callers. You’ll still hear from numbers you’ve recently called or ones stored in your contacts, as well as from numbers the digital assistant Siri finds in other apps, such as within your emails. Everything else will be considered spam and will go straight to voice mail.