Today marks the end of Google+ for consumers. Google announced its decision to pull the plug on Google+ in December due to "low usage and challenges involved in maintaining" it. So, this is your last chance to download your photos and other content.
As a result, Google will start deleting your Google+ account pages anytime soon, in addition to all the content from consumer Google+ accounts. This will also result in the deletion of photos and videos from Google+ in your Album Archive. You can download your content. Your photos and videos backed up in Google Photos will not be deleted.
Google says the process of deleting content from consumer Google+ accounts, Google+ Pages, and Album Archive will take a few months. Therefore, content may remain visible for a while. For example, activity log. Some consumer Google+ data may also remain visible to G Suite users until consumer Google+ is deleted.
In the first week of February, Google stopped new users from creating new Google+ profiles, pages, communities or events.
"From all of us on the Google+ team, thank you for making Google+ such a special place. We are grateful for the talented group of artists, community builders, and thought leaders who made Google+ their home. It would not have been the same without your passion and dedication," said Google.
Google+ Community owner and moderators can download Google+ Community data including author, body, and photos for every community post in a public community. Google+ sign-in buttons will stop working in the coming weeks and Google is likely to replace them Google Sign-in buttons.
Google+ for comments has already been removed from Blogger and all other sites. Today, all your Google+ comments on all sites.
Google+ for your G Suite account should remain active for G Suite customers. All you need to do is contact your G Suite administrator for more details. Google says you can also expect a new look and new features soon.
Today also marks the end for Google's 'Gmail by Inbox.'