Published 16:03 IST, May 31st 2024

Gorakhpur Elections 2024: BJP Stronghold to Witness Actor Vs Actor Fight in Final Phase

Yogi Adityanath won this seat five times since 1998.

Reported by: Digital Desk
Follow: Google News Icon
  • share
Gorakhpur Elections 2024: BJP Stronghold to Witness Actor Vs Actor Fight in Final Phase | Image: X

New Delhi: Gorakhpur, one of the 80 Lok Sabha (parliamentary) constituencies in Uttar Pradesh, will vote in the seventh and the last phase of Lok Sabha Elections 2024 on June 1. The seat will witness a fierce fight between Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and Samajwadi Party (SP). Actor-politician Ravi Kishan is seeking a second term from Gorakhpur.

Gorakhpur Lok Sabha constituency comprises of 5 assembly segments namely Caimpiyarganj, Pipraich, Gorakhpur Urban, Gorakhpur Rural, and Sahajanwa. 


A BJP bastion, Gorakhpur seat was claimed by BJP’s Ravi Kishan who secured 717,122 votes, followed by Samajwadi Party with 4,15,458 votes and Congress with 22,972 votes in 2019 elections

In the 2018 by-elections, the seat was clenched by the Samajwadi Party with 456,589 votes. Prior to that, the BJP had been ruling this seat since 1998 with Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath tasting success for five consecutive times till 2014. 


Actor Vs Actor

In the upcoming Gorakhpur election, BJP has reposed its faith in Ravi Kishan who faces off Samajwadi Party (SP) candidate and Bhojpuri actress Kajal Nishad. BSP candidate Javed Simnani is also contesting in the elections but it is unlikely to make any difference to the outcome. 

There are approximately 19.5 lakh voters in the Gorakhpur Lok Sabha constituency. The district of Gorakhpur includes two Lok Sabha constituencies, Gorakhpur and Bansgaon. 


13 Seats in UP Vote on Phase 7

Apart from Gorakhpur, 12 Lok Sabha seats will go to polls in the last and seventh phase of the general elections on Saturday. Uttar Pradesh is seeing a direct contest between the BJP-led NDA and the coalition of INDIA bloc members Samajwadi Party and Congress. Polling in the state, which sends 80 members to the Lower House of Parliament, was held in all seven phases of the election. Campaigning for the seat ended on Thursday evening. Voting for elections will begin at 7am and conclude at 6pm. The counting of votes will take place on June 4.

15:45 IST, May 31st 2024