Published 15:46 IST, June 4th 2024

Punjab Lok Sabha 2024 Results: Congress Leads in 7 Seats, AAP-3 And SAD-1

In Punjab, the Congress was leading in 7 Lok Sabha seats, while the AAP was leading on 3 seats. 2 Congress candidates have been declared winner.

Reported by: Abhishek Tiwari
Follow: Google News Icon
  • share
Punjab Lok Sabha Election Results 2024 | Image: Republic

Chandigarh: In Punjab, the Congress was leading in seven Lok Sabha seats, while the ruling party in the state Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) was leading on three seats. Apart from them the Shiromani Akali Dal (SAD) was leading on only one seat. On the other hand, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) appears to have failed to even open their account in the state, according to the Election Commission of India (ECI) latest trends.  

The two other seats in Punjab are at present being led by two independent candidates, including radical Sikh preacher and jailed ‘Waris Punjab De’ Amritpal Singh. The ECI trends showed that the Congress candidates were leading from Amritsar, Jalandhar, Fatehgarh Sahib, Gurdaspur, Patiala, Ferozepur and Ludhiana seats and the AAP was ahead in Hoshiarpur, Sangrur and Anandpur Sahib.


Former-Punjab CM Charanjit Singh Channi Wins From Jalandhar

Congress candidate Charanjit Singh Channi won against nearest rival and BJP candidate Sushil Kumar Rinku by a margin of 1,75,993 votes from the Jalandhar Lok Sabha constituency. 

Congress' Sukhjinder Randhawa, who is the former deputy chief minister was leading in Gurdaspur seat against his nearest rival BJP's Dinesh Singh Babbu by a margin of 43,998 votes.


In Amritsar, Congress candidate Gurjeet Singh Aujla was leading against his nearest rival and AAP candidate Kuldeep Singh Dhaliwal by a margin of 35,592 votes.

Congress candidate Amar Singh, who is the sitting MP from the Fatehgarh Sahib Lok Sabha constituency, also won against the AAP's Gurpreet Singh GP by a margin of 34,202 votes.


Congress nominee Amrinder Singh Raja Warring was leading in Ludhiana by a margin of 27,145 votes against BJP's Ravneet Singh Bittu.

Congress candidate Sher Singh Ghubaya was ahead by 2,993 votes in Ferozepur seat against BJP candidate Gurmit Singh Sodhi.


Congress party's Dr Dharamvira Gandhi was leading by 15,023 votes against AAP's Dr Balbir Singh in Patiala.

Aam Aadmi Party's Raj Kumar Chabbewal was leading in Hoshiarpur by a margin of 42,097 votes against Congress's Yamini Gomar, while AAP's Malvinder Singh Kang was ahead in Anandpur Sahib seat by a margin of 11,719 votes against Congress party's Vijay Inder Singla.


AAP's Gurmeet Singh Meet Hayer maintained a healthy lead in Sangrur seat. He was ahead by a margin of 1,71,685 votes against Congress’s Sukhpal Singh Khaira.

SAD's Harsimrat Kaur Badal, who is the three-time MP, is also leading in Bathinda seat by a margin of 52,584 votes against AAP's Gurmeet Singh Khuddian.

Radical Sikh preacher Amritpal Singh, who contested as an independent, was leading from Khadoor Sahib seat against Congress party's Kulbir Singh Zira by a margin of 1,38,561 votes. Amritpal, the chief of the 'Waris Punjab De' outfit and is currently lodged in Assam's Dibrugarh jail under the National Security Act, fought the election as an independent.

Sarabjeet Singh Khalsa, who contested as an independent, was leading in Faridkot against his nearest rival AAP's Karamjit Singh Anmol by a margin of 62,148 votes. Khalsa, who is the son of one of the two assassins of late Prime Minister Indira Gandhi, was also leading from Faridkot seat.

15:46 IST, June 4th 2024