Published 15:51 IST, June 10th 2024

JDU MPs Who Were Inducted in Modi 3.0 Cabinet | All You Need To know

Following the grand oath-taking event, the focus has now shifted to portfolio allocation.

Reported by: Digital Desk
Follow: Google News Icon
  • share
JDU MPs Who Were Inducted in Modi 3.0 Cabinet | All You Need To know | Image: ani

New Delhi: The Janata Dal (United) which came under the fold of Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP)-led National Democratic Alliance (NDA) ahead of the Lok Sabha elections, got its two newly-elected MPs inducted into the Modi 3.0 cabinet on Sunday during a grand ceremonial event at Rashtrapati Bhawan.

The two leaders include Rajiv Ranjan Singh alias ‘Lalan Singh’ and Ram Nath Thakur. Ahead of the swearing-in ceremony of the new Cabinet, there were speculations over JD(U) supremo and Bihar Chief Minister Nitish Kumar’s choice between NDA and INDI alliance. However, Nitish Kumar chose to stay with NDA and he later proposed the names of Lalan Singh and Ram Nath Thakur for the cabinet berths. In his new Cabinet, Prime Minister Narendra Modi retained 34 ministers from his outgoing council of ministers including as many as 19 with Cabinet berths.


The oath-taking ceremony witnessed a total of 72 leaders swearing-in to join Modi 3.0 Cabinet. Following the grand event, the focus has now shifted to portfolio allocation.

Rajiv Ranjan Singh Alias ‘Lalan Singh’

Rajiv Ranjan Singh alias ‘Lalan Singh’ is a senior leader who served as party’s national president from July 2021 to December 2023. A trusted loyalist of Nitish Kumar, Lalan Singh has also served as a minister in the state government. On Sunday, the 69-year-old took to take oath as an Union minister.


Hailing from Bihar, Singh began his political journey in 1974. Later, he got associated with the Old Janata Dal Parivar and was among the founding members of the Samata Party led by CM Kumar and former defence minister Geroge Fernandes. Singh belongs to upper Bhumihar caste.

The four-time MP, Singh won the Munger Lok Sabha seat in the elections.


Singh is known for being a hard negotiator for the JD(U), which has remained in power in Bihar as well as Centre in different coalition governments. The hexagenarian has served as water resources minister and planning development minister in the state government.

Last year, the stalwart had stepped down from the post of national president of JD(U), amid speculations that CM Kumar was not happy with him for his close ties with RJD, a former ally of JD(U) in the coalition govt in Bihar that lasted from August 2022 to January 2024.


Later, the CM took charge as the party’s national president in December 2023.

Ram Nath Thakur

Apart from Lalan Singh, Ram Nath Thakur also made it to the Modi Cabinet. The 74-year-old is the son of former Bihar Chief Minister Karpoori Thakur. Ram Nath Thakur is a Rajya Sabha MP. Hailing from Bihar’s Samastipur district, he has also served as a member of the Bihar Legislative Council.


He served as minister of sugarcane industries in the first cabinet of RJD leader Lalu Prasad. He was also a part of Nitish Kumar’s cabinet from November 2005 to November 2010. Thakur became a member of Rajya Sabha on April 10, 2014.

15:49 IST, June 10th 2024