Andhra Pradesh Lok Sabha Elections

Republic Double Exit Poll For Andhra Pradesh: Down-to-the-wire Contest Likely As Jan Ki Baat Projects YSRCP And Jagan's Success, CVoter Says Naidu & TDP May Come Out On Top

Written By Daamini Sharma | Mumbai | Published:

Thirty-eight days after it began, the polling in the 2019 Lok Sabha elections has concluded on Sunday, bringing to an end the largest festival of democracy anywhere in the world. Spread across seven phases throughout the 29 states and 7 Union Territories, the 2019 elections will decide the fate of the 542 Lok Sabha seats (excluding the Vellore constituency where elections were countermanded over alleged use of cash by DMK). Now, the final chapter in the polls remains as the country awaits to know the composition of the 17th Lok Sabha which and consequently, the next government of India. Ahead of the critical vote-counting on May 23, however, amid the slog overs of the general elections, Republic Media Network has brought to its viewers a mega double exit poll which presents a projection on what the final outcome may be.

India's biggest double exit poll, conducted on-ground at polling booths across the country by the nation's biggest pollsters CVoter and Jan Ki Baat, presents a statistically significant projection for the country, including granularity to the level of individual states and union territories.

In Andhra Pradesh, a little over 3.93 crore voters were eligible to decide the fortunes of 319 candidates for Lok Sabha seats and 2,118 candidates for Assembly polls. Polling in 25 Lok Sabha constituencies in Andhra Pradesh took place on April 11 in the first phase of Lok Sabha elections. 

Chandrababu Naidu, YSRCP president YS Jagan Mohan Reddy, Naidu's son Nara Lokesh, Naidu's brother-in-law and actor N Balakrishna and state Congress chief Raghuveera Reddy are few of the prominent candidates giving a neck to neck fight in the state.

Projection for Andhra Pradesh (Total 25 seats):


CVoter projection:

As per the predicted figure, the TDP and YSRCP are locked in a direct fight for power even as BJP and Congress contested all seats on their own. The projection reflects that TDP will win 15 seats whereas Jagan Mohan Reddy's YSRCP is likely to end up with a tally of 11 seats.

Here's the vote share projection:

  • NDA-1.5%
  • UPA-2.2%
  • YSRCP-34.9%
  • TDP-36.5%

Jan Ki Baat projection:

According to Jan Ki Baat projection, it's a win for YSRCP president YS Jagan Mohan Reddy as he is likely to gain 13-16 seats in 2019 Lok Sabha Election. On the other hand, this election might turn out an offseason for TDP as it is projected to win approximately 8-12 seats.

Here's the seat share projection:

  • YSRCP: 13-16 seats
  • TDP: 8-12seats
  • BJP: 0-1 seats
  • UPA: 0 seats

Read: Republic Double Exit Poll For West Bengal: Major Inroads Projected For BJP In Mamata Banerjee's Bastion, Trinamool Likely To Come Down From 2014 High In 2019 Lok Sabha Polls

Here's how Andhra Pradesh voted in the last three elections in the state:

In 2014, Chief Electoral Officer Bhanwarlal said around 78.70% of the 3.68 crore voters exercised their franchise across 175 Assembly and 25 Lok Sabha constituencies in the region and the voting percentage was seen as likely to touch 80%. The highest turnout of 82.97% was recorded in Guntur district and the lowest of 70% in Vishakhapatnam district.

In the previous General Election, the Telugu Desam Party led by N. Chandrababu Naidu won a majority and is currently ruling the state of Andra Pradesh. 

The election story so far:

The 2019 elections saw high-octane electric campaigning from both sides as the BJP went hammer and tongs, expressing confidence at each turn that it would not only repeat but also better its tally of 282 votes from five years earlier, whereas the Congress and other Opposition parties, especially West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee also campaigned heavily though without being able to make any convincing show of unity. While Prime Minister Narendra Modi, seeking a second term in the Parliament, addressed a total of 144 rallies and roadshows this election season, Congress president Rahul Gandhi addressed 125 rallies in the 2019 polls.

While Prime Minister Narendra Modi, seeking a second term in the office, addressed a total of 144 rallies and roadshows this election season, Congress president Rahul Gandhi addressed 125 rallies in the 2019 polls with the elections also marking the entry of his sister Priyanka Gandhi Vadra as an official member of the Congress.  

There were controversies galore over the course of the polls, ranging from poll violence being witnessed in each of the 7 phases of voting in Bengal, to some shocking statements from leaders across parties, with the likes of Azam Khan, Yogi Adityanath, Maneka Gandhi and others being struck down on by the Election Commission, and others, like Sam Pitroda, Sadhvi Pragya and Kamal Haasan triggering mass outrage. 

A number of Republic Media Network newsbreaks especially set the agenda for the polls, including the first interview of the Prime Minister's election campaign to Republic's Editor-in-Chief Arnab Goswami and his final campaign interview to Executive Editor Abhishek Kapoor. Alongside these were the sensational #MPsOnSale sting on sitting MPs who showed themselves willing to compromise the interests of those whom they claim to represent, the Operation Karz Maafi sting that exposed the falsehood in the Congress' farm loan-waiver promise, and numerous others.

The vote counting for the 2019 Lok Sabha polls will be held on May 23. Join Arnab on Republic Media Network for non-stop coverage of the sensational conclusion to the general elections.