Haryana Lok Sabha Elections

2019 Lok Sabha Elections Result For Haryana: From 8 Seats In 2014 To 10 In 2019, BJP Goes From Strength-to-strength Despite Allegations Of Law-and-order Problems

Written By Monica Aggarwal | Mumbai | Published:


  • BJP took a lead in Haryana in the early trends during the counting and ultimately won all the 10 seats in the state

In Haryana, a multi-cornered fight between BJP, the Congress, the INLD, JJP (which is in alliance with AAP) and the Bahujan Samaj Party are up against each other.

Haryana voted on May 12 in the sixth phase of voting for Lok Sabha Elections 2019. The state saw over 70 per cent voter turnout with Sirsa parliamentary constituency recording the highest 75.97 per cent voting.

BJP took a lead in Haryana in the early trends during the counting and ultimately won all the 10 seats in the state. Union Ministers Rao Inderjit Singh (Gurugram) and Krishan Pal Gurjar (Faridabad) won their respective constituencies. 

Former Chief Minister and Congress leader Bhupinder Singh Hooda and his son Deepender Hooda lost in Sonipat and Rohtak seats respectively

A total of 223 candidates, including two Union ministers and a former chief minister, were in the fray for the 10 seats. Prominent candidates in fray included Union Ministers Krishan Pal Gurjar from Faridabad and Rao Inderjit Singh from Gurgaon. VIP contestants included former chief minister Bhupinder Singh Hooda from Sonipat, Kumari Selja from Ambala of the Congress and JJP leader Dushyant Chautala who is seeking second Lok Sabha term in Hisar.

In the 2019 elections, AAP tried to make inroads in the state where Jats, a land-owning class, are the most dominant community. Even after holding alliance talks with Congress for the polls, AAP could not make it happen until the last date of filing nomination for the polls. Later, it entered into an alliance with JJP.

Congress’ star campaigners, former Haryana CM Bhupinder Singh Hooda and his son Deepender Singh Hooda were contesting from Sonipat and Rohtak, respectively.

READ: PM Narendra Modi And Amit Shah Visit BJP Founding Fathers LK Advani And Murli Manohar Joshi The Day After Election Victory, Seek Their Blessings

Historically, the Jats have traditionally backed the Congress or INLD in the election with the BJP mostly trying to consolidate non-Jat votes. Infighting in the Congress and INLD causing the splitting of votes proved to be game-changer for BJP in the state.

In the 2014 Lok Sabha election,  BJP won seven of eight Lok Sabha seats the party contested in the state, following an aggressive campaign by BJP’s then prime ministerial candidate Narendra Modi. The INLD had won two while the Congress, which was in power at the time in Haryana could manage to secure only seat in in the Parliament in the previous polls.

Republic’s Double Exit Poll had predicted the anti-incumbency factor will play no spoilsport for the BJP with the pollsters predicting BJP likely to win more seats in the state than what it had in 2014.


Republic World brings you comprehensive election news coverage and phase-by-phase election updates of the Indian General Elections 2019. The 2019 Lok Sabha Elections will be held from April 11 to May 19 in seven phases, with the counting of votes scheduled for May 23. Get all the latest election news, highlights, controversies, polls, live updates and results of the Lok Sabha Elections 2019, only on Republic World.

Trending in Politics - Narendra Modi, Rahul Gandhi, Amit ShahMamata BanerjeeYogi Adityanath