Indian General Elections

After 700 Artists' Anti-Modi Election Appeal, 907 Other Artists Begin Counter-campaign Seeking 'continuance Of PM Modi-led Government'. Full List Here

Written By Daamini Sharma | Mumbai | Published:

A few days after 700 theatre personalities signed a letter asking people to "vote BJP and its allies" out of power, a counter-campaign has been initiated by 907 artists and persons from the field of Literature. Republic TV has accessed the statement of 907 artists titled as 'Nation First Collective: an initiative by Creative Collective Trust'. 

The statement, including the names of the signatories, appeals to the 'fellow citizens to caste their vote and exercise their right to elect the new Government without any pressure and prejudice'.

Referring to the Modi-led government, the artists state:

"We believe that during the last five years, India has seen a Govt. that has delivered corruption-free good governance and development-oriented administration. During this period, globally India has acquired greater respect. It is our firm conviction that the continuance of Govt. led by Prime Minister Narendra Modi is the need of the hour".

Highlighting the point that when challenges like terrorism are faced by the country the nation requires “Majboot Sarkar” and not a “Mazboor Sarkar”.

 The above statement was issued in the Hindi language as well:

Here is the List of all 907 signatories:


Read: Intolerance Brigade Drops Its Garb, 700 Theatre Artists Including Naseeruddin Shah, Amol Palekar Urge Citizens To Vote Against BJP

Earlier, around 700 theatre personalities had signed a letter asking people to "vote BJP and its allies" out of power, arguing that the idea of India and its constitution are under threat. The letter was issued on 'Artist Unite India website' on Thursday evening in 12 different languages namely:

  1. English
  2. Hindi
  3. Tamil
  4. Bengali
  5. Marathi
  6. Malayalam
  7. Kannada
  8. Assamese
  9. Telugu
  10. Punjabi
  11. Konkani
  12. Urdu 

The letter, along with the names of the signatories, states that the said the upcoming Lok Sabha elections are the "most critical in the history" of the country.