West Bengal Lok Sabha Elections

2019 Lok Sabha Election Results For Jadavpur, West Bengal: Trinamool's Mimi Chakraborty Beats BJP And CPI(M) Counterparts By A Landslide

Written By Suchitra Karthikeyan | Mumbai | Published:

Jadavpur - Bengal's swing constituency saw a heated battle between Trinamool's actor-turned-politician Mimi Chakraborty and former mayor Bikash Ranjan of the CPI (M) with BJP's Anupam Hazra as the underdog. The votes polled elected Trinamool's Mimi Chakraborty victoriously by garnering 6,87,773 votes, as per 10:16 PM.

Poll campaign issues:

While violence was seen during the polls in Jadavpur with Hazra's car attacked by alleged Trinamool goons and West Bengal CM Mamata Banerjee blocking permission to BJP chief Amit Shah's rally in the constituency, the major issue plaguing this constituency is water scarcity.

The battle was mainly between Trinamool and CPI(M) as debutant politician Mimi Chakraborty heavily depended on her popularity as an actress attracting her fan base rather than talking on concrete measures she would implement if voted into power.

On the other hand, experienced politician Bikash Ranjan has heavily criticized the Trinamool administration making targeted attacks at Trinamool aversion to CRPF jawans and various poll day attempts at booth capturing. He has also gathered the Bhangar area's support by playing a crucial role in the power grid protest of 2017 - which was instrumental in handing TMC MP Sugata Bose a lead of 63,000 votes in 2014.

Mamata Banerjee's WB Government Allegedly Denies Permission For BJP Chief Amit Shah's Jadavpur Rally, Party Hits Out

Historical trend:

Jadavpur which has seen many political heavyweights, educationists, performing artists and even the current chief minister Mamata Banerjee contesting for it, has been a seesaw ride between the CPI(M) and the Trinamool Congress with every poll result being equally unpredictable. While it was a CPI(M) bastion till 1984, the tide turned when current Trinamool leader- but then Congress leader- Mamata Banerjee defeated CPI(M) veteran, Somnath Chatterjee.

Though CPI(M) managed to win the seat in 1989, from 1996 Trinamool has held the seat till 2004 after which  CPI(M) again won the seat. 

Since then in 2009 and 2014, Trinamool managed to win back Jadavpur with the current MP being Sugata Bose who is Harvard historian and great-nephew of Subhash Chandra Bose.

Jadavpur polled in the final phase of the Lok Sabha elections on May 19.

Can Mimi Chakraborty Do A Mamata Banerjee Of 1984 In Jadavpur?