BJP's Bakshish Singh On Viral EVM Video: 'It's Fake And Doctored'

General News

The BJP MLA Bakshish Singh said that a 'fake' and 'doctored' video of him has gone viral, in which he allegedly said that 'every vote on EVM will go for BJP'

Written By Varsha Chavan | Mumbai | Updated On:

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) MLA from Assandh in Haryana, Bakshish Singh, on Monday said that a 'fake' and 'doctored' video of him has gone viral, in which he allegedly said 'every vote on EVM will go for BJP'. This statement comes after Congrees leader Rahul Gandhi posted a video of Baksish Singh on his Twitter account.

"I respect the Election Commission. It is a fake video and has been doctored," Singh said. Speaking on the matter, Haryana Chief Electoral Officer Anurag Agarwal said, "A show-cause notice was issued to the candidate, he replied saying, 'video was edited'. Matter is being investigated."

READ | Congress Will Be In 3rd Or 4th Position In Haryana Polls: Ashok Tanwar

Earlier today, Congress leader Rahul Gandhi shared the video of Singh on his Twitter. In the video, Singh purportedly said that people can press any button, their vote will go to BJP only.

READ | Haryana Polls: Former Indian Hockey Captain Sandeep Singh Casts Vote

The Election Commission in their statement on Sunday said that the electoral body has appointed Vinod Zutshi, former Deputy Election Commissioner ECI and Secretary Tourism, as Special Observer for the ensuing Elections to Assandh Assembly constituency of Karnal district in Haryana in light of the video circulating in social media. "Zutshi has been requested to proceed immediately to the Constituency to take necessary corrective action and ensure free, fair and peaceful election," EC stated.

READ | Haryana Polls: CM Khattar Rides A Cycle To Cast Vote; Attacks Congress

Haryana Assembly elections 

Polling for 90 seats in Haryana began at 7 AM on Monday and will continue till 6 PM in the evening. The electoral fate of 1,169 candidates will be sealed in the EVMs by the voters who will exercise their democratic franchise in the assembly elections. In Haryana, 19,578 polling stations have been set up for the citizens to cast their votes. The assembly polls will witness a multi-cornered contest among BJP, Congress, Indian National Lok Dal (INLD), and the recently formed Jannayak Janata Party (JJP). Votes will be counted on October 24. In the 2014 elections, BJP had won 47 seats and formed the Government on its own strength while the Congress managed only 15 seats. The INLD finished second with 19 seats. 

READ | Haryana Polls: Fmr CM BS Hooda Blatantly Skips Queue, Pushes Elderly

(With ANI inputs)

By 2030, 40% Indians will not have access to drinking water