Published 20:49 IST, June 10th 2024

With JP Nadda Sworn In, Who's Next in Line For BJP President? 6 Frontrunners

With Nadda's induction to the council of ministers, the focus now turns to the burning question of who will become the next BJP chief?

Reported by: Digital Desk
Edited by: Surabhi Shaurya
Follow: Google News Icon
  • share
With Nadda's induction to the council of ministers, the focus now turns to the burning question of who will become the next BJP chief? | Image: PTI

New Delhi: With JP Nadda's induction to the council of ministers, the focus now turns to the burning question of who will become the next BJP chief, a subject sure to keep political enthusiasts on edge. Nadda joins five former BJP presidents who have also taken oaths as ministers. Besides, leaders who were seen as his potential successors, such as CR Paatil, Shivraj Singh Chouhan, and Bhupender Yadav, have been inducted into the Union cabinet. Nadda, born in Patna, succeeded Amit Shah as BJP President on January 20, 2020. The BJP had announced that Nadda would remain party chief until June 2024. Although his term technically ended in January 2023, it was extended to align with the Lok Sabha elections.

Probable Candidates For The Next BJP Chief

Anurag Thakur: Anurag Thakur, a former president of the BJP's youth wing, has a solid background in organizational work. Despite his experience and contributions, his exclusion from the recent Union council of ministers was unexpected. Thakur, who previously held key portfolios such as sports and information and broadcasting in the Modi government, has consistently won from the Hamirpur seat in Himachal Pradesh, marking his fifth consecutive victory.  


Sunil Bansal: Currently the BJP national general secretary, Sunil Bansal is recognized as a key figure behind the party's success in Uttar Pradesh under PM Modi and Amit Shah. He served as the co-incharge of UP with Amit Shah in 2014 and led the charge for the 2017 Assembly elections and the 2019 Lok Sabha elections in the state. Following his achievements in UP, Bansal was assigned the task of strengthening the BJP in Odisha and Telangana. A former RSS pracharak, Bansal hails from Rajasthan and is seen as close to Amit Shah, with significant support from a segment of the RSS.

Vinod Tawde: Another national general secretary, Vinod Tawde, was promoted following his effective performance as national secretary. He coordinated the BJP's campaigns in states during the 2022 election cycle. Tawde, with a background in Akhil Bharatiya Vidyarthi Parishad, has served as a minister in Maharashtra. Known for his soft-spoken and methodical approach, Tawde has transitioned seamlessly from state to national politics. Hailing from the Maratha community, his appointment could be a strategic move ahead of the Maharashtra Assembly elections, especially after the BJP's setbacks against the Maha Vikas Aghadi.


Om Birla: The outgoing Lok Sabha Speaker, Om Birla, comes from an RSS and ABVP background. Re-elected from the Kota constituency, albeit with a reduced margin, Birla enjoys the trust of PM Modi, Amit Shah, and the RSS.

Om Mathur: A senior leader from Rajasthan, Om Mathur is a former RSS pracharak with extensive organizational experience. He has successfully managed the party's campaigns in states like Gujarat and Uttar Pradesh. His recent triumph includes the Chhattisgarh Assembly election in 2023, where the BJP secured a surprising victory over the Congress. Mathur is known for his low-profile yet effective leadership in organizational matters.


BL Santosh: Presently the general secretary (organization) in the BJP, BL Santosh is a significant power center within the party. With a background as an RSS pracharak, Santosh is known for his effectiveness in the ideological training of cadres. However, he faces criticism from a section of the Karnataka BJP for the 2023 election defeat in the state. Unlike Bansal, Tawde, and Mathur, Santosh is more vocal in media and social media, which could be a disadvantage.

13:09 IST, June 10th 2024