Navratri 2019: Start Date | Colours For The Nine Days Of Navratri


This year Navratri will start from 29th September 2019 to 7th October 2019. The colour calendar for this year has vibrant colours on the list. Check the details

Written By Jiya Chulet | Mumbai | Updated On:

Maha Navratri is one of the most significant festivals in India. Devotees worship 'Maa Durga' for nine days during this festival. This year, Navratri will start from Sunday, 29th September to 7th October. For these nine days, this festival will be celebrated across India. Here is the significance of each day with the colour associated with it. Make sure you organise your wardrobe for Navratri accordingly to flaunt your Garba moves.

READ | Navratri: Places In Mumbai Which Serve Delicious 'Falahari' Food Items During Fasting

Colours for Navratri 2019

Day 1

The first day of Navratri will start from Shailputra Pooja. Goddess Shailputra is considered as an incarnation of 'Maa Parvati'. The vibrant orange colour will be the colour of the day.  The colour orange represents energy and happiness. Start the festival with orange and set your energy high for Garba/Dandiya Raas.

Day 2

The second day is significant for worshipping another incarnation of Parvati, Goddess Brahamcharini. This epitome is notable for harmony and moksha. The colour for the second day is white. The white colour stands for peace and purity.

READ | Navratri: This Durga Devotee Balances 21 Urns On Chest

Day 3 

Admiring Parvati's marriage to Shiva, the invocation of Chandraghanta falls on the third day. Married Parvati is considered as the symbol of beauty and fearlessness. The name Chandraghanta is derived when Parvati ornamented her forehead with a half-Chandra. The colour of the day is Red, symbolising bravery.

Day 4 

Goddess Kushmanda is worshipped on the fourth day of Navratri. According to Puranas, Kushmanda is considered as the goddess who enhances the health of the earth. Royal Blue is the colour for this day. The colour signifies wealth and strength.

Day 5

Devotees worship Skandamata on the fifth day of Navratri. Skandamata is the mother of Kartikeya. She is distinguished for her motherhood. The colour for the fifth day is Yellow. Yellow signifies brightness and power.

Day 6 

The sixth day of Navratri is celebrated for honouring Katyayani. She is an incarnation of 'Maa Durga' and known for her courage. The colour chosen for the day is Green. Colour Green signifies new beginnings and growth.

READ | Here Are Six Wardrobe Essentials For The Traditional Yet Unique Festive Look This Navratri

Day 7 

Kalaratri, the most violent form of Maa Durga is revered for Saptami, or day 7 of Navratri. The colour for this day is Grey. The colour stands for the strength of transforming.

Day 8

Asthami is held for Mahaguari Pooja. It is believed that Mahaguari blesses the devotees with intelligence and peace. The colour for this day is purple.  The colour signifies calm and peace.

Day 9

Maa Siddhidatri is worshipped on the last day of Navratri, that is Navami. Maa Siddhidatri is believed to have all the Siddhi carrying on her four hands. The colour for this day is Peacock Green. Several rituals associated with Navratri are performed on the last day. 

READ | 4 Lakh Devotees Likely To Visit Vaishno Devi On Navratras: Official

The festival comes to an end on Vijayadashami or Dusshera, the tenth day of the festival. Vijayadashami represents the victory of good over evil. The stories of Vijayadashmi differs from region to region. People residing in the Southern, Eastern and North-eastern part of India mark this day to celebrate the victory of Maa Durga. However, in Northern and Western states of India, the day is celebrated to mark the supremacy of Lord Rama over evil Raavana. 

By 2030, 40% Indian will not have access to drinking water