RLWL: Remote Location Waiting List Tickets – Know Your IRCTC Train Ticket Types


IRCTC Waiting List Train Ticket Types can be of many kinds such as GNWL, PQWL, RLWL, TQWL. Here’s a guide on what do different train ticket types mean on IRCTC and their Confirmation Probability.

Written By Lifestyle Desk | Mumbai | Updated On:

What does RLWL Mean?

RLWL (Remote Location Waiting list) - Remote Location Waiting List (RLWL) is a specific waiting list quota for long-distance trains. RLWL means the ticket is issued for intermediate stations (between the originating and terminating stations) because usually, these are the most important towns or cities on that particular route. For example, if a train is travelling from Kolkata to New Jalpaiguri, and it crosses Maldah in the way, then Maldah becomes a Remote Location station. RLWL tickets are given a separate priority and RLWL confirmation chances depend on the number of seats allotted by IRCTC to that particular station. RLWL tickets are confirmed only when someone from the remote location station vacates berth through cancellation. Remote location stations prepare their own chart 2-3 hours before the actual departure of the train. RLWL confirmation chances are usually very low. If the status of the RLWL tickets remains waitlisted once the chart preparation is done, the ticket is automatically cancelled, and the refund is credited as per rules.

RLWL Confirmation Chances

RLWL ticket holders are provided with separate priority. A separate chart is prepared by remote location stations hours before the train arrives. RLWL ticket holders will be given if a confirm ticket only if a destination ticket holder cancels.

However, you can check the confirmation probability of your ticket getting while booking it at IRCTC Website.

For more details, you may also download the IRCTC app for mobile devices. 

The advance booking for tickets in the Indian Railways commences 120 days before the date of the journey. Tickets can be booked online at www.irctc.co.in, or offline at Passenger Reservation System(PRS) in railway stations. The online ticket can again be an e-ticket whose print-out is to be shown during the journey or an i-ticket which is delivered to the passenger by Courier. All the tickets issued contain a unique 10-digit PNR(Passenger Name Record) which is to be quoted during any correspondence relating to the ticket/journey. The ticket also shows the journey details like train number, journey date, travel class, origin, destination, ticket status, berth details for confirmed tickets, passenger details etc. A Maximum of six passengers can travel through one ticket. But having a ticket does not guarantee that the journey is confirmed, it depends on the status of the ticket. The status of the ticket can be waiting (WL), RAC (half berth), or confirmed (full berth). A passenger is guaranteed a journey if his/her ticket is CNF(confirmed) or RAC(Reservation Against Cancellation) but not if its WL(Waiting List). These technical details can be quite illegible to the average user, who can struggle to grapple what TQWL or RLWL is, or what PQWL means.

All the different statuses of train tickets are described below in intricate detail.:

•    General Waiting List (GNWL)
•    Pooled Quota Waiting List (PQWL)
•    Remote Location Waiting list (RLWL)
•    Tatkal Waiting List Tickets (TQWL)


By 2030, 40% Indian will not have access to drinking water