Apps

How To Restrict WhatsApp Users From Posting Messages In Group Or Changing Group Name And Icon

Written By Tanmay Patange | Mumbai | Published:

Hack:

  • By default, WhatsApp group settings are as such that any member can change the group information
  • WhatsApp Group admins can restrict other members from posting any messages in the group

WhatsApp group admins have more power and control than, let' say, from eight months ago. Back in July, WhatsApp released a new update, providing WhatsApp group admins with a whole new set of controls and features. By default, WhatsApp group settings are as such that any member can change the group information such as name, description and icon. Did you know that admins can restrict group members from changing the group information? Infact, they can also restrict other members from posting messages in the group.

Creating a restricted group on WhatsApp

In a nutshell, there is no such thing called “restricted group” on WhatsApp. However, when you create a WhatsApp group, you should be able to determine whether you have to limit users from taking certain actions or posting messages in the group. For example, let’s say you have created a WhatsApp group whose whole purpose is to keep members updated with college assignments. In that case, members are not required to indulge in group conversations. It is where these limitations come into the icon.

How to check anyone's WhatsApp status without them knowing about it

How to restrict users from posting in the group

Ever since WhatsApp released an update with these new controls for WhatsApp group admins, they can tweak the group setting and limit members from posting anything in the group. Once you impose this restriction, nobody else can post in the group. Here’s how:

Step 1: Make sure you have the latest version of WhatsApp installed on your phone.

Step 2: Go to WhatsApp and open a WhatsApp group that you admin.

Step 3: Tap on the group name for more details about the group.

How to know if someone has blocked you on WhatsApp

Step 4: Scroll down. There you will come across an additional option “Group Settings.”

Step 5: Tap the option “Send messages.”

Step 6: Choose who can send a message to the group. You have to choose from two options: All participants and admins.

Step 7: Select “admins.”

Once you have tweaked these settings, only admin can post a message on the group.

How to limit users from the group’s name and icon

Similarly, you can limit non-admins from changing the group information such as name and icon. Here’s what you can do:

Step 1: Go to WhatsApp Group Settings as demonstrated earlier.

Step 2: Tap on the option “Edit group info.”

Step 3: You have to choose who can change the group information including name, icon and description.

Step 4: Once again, select “admins.”

DO NOT MISS