Brought to you by


Your browser does not support the canvas element.



Andhra Pradesh Lok Sabha Elections

Two TDP Workers Killed In Clash Between TDP And YSRCP activists In Andhra Pradesh's Anantapur

Written By Monica Aggarwal | Mumbai | Published:

In a shocking incident, two TDP (Telugu Desam Party) workers got killed on Thursday following a clash between TDP and YSRCP (YSR Congress Party) activists in Andhra Pradesh's Anantapur district, while polling was in progress. 

The incident took place near the polling booth No.197 at Veerapuram in Tadipatri constituency of Anantapur district.

Anantapur is a stronghold of controversial former TDP MP JC Diwakar Reddy. His son Pawan Kumar Reddy is contesting on TDP ticket for the seat this election. 

Earlier, a clash broke out between YSRCP and TDP workers in Puthalapattu Constituency in Bandarlapalli, Andhra Pradesh following which the AP Police resorted to lathi-charge to control the situation. YSRCP candidate Kodali Nani and TDP candidate Venkatramarao came to blows. 

In the aftermath of the incident, YSRCP wrote to the Election Commission that Chandrababu Naidu and TDP are instigating violence in the state during elections. He went on to request the EC to take appropriate actions to ensure that the elections in Andhra Pradesh are conducted in a free and fair manner. 

READ: 2019 Lok Sabha Elections Begin: India Goes To Polls For Phase 1 Of General Elections - Voting To Be Held For 91 Seats

Elections are underway in the state of Andhra Pradesh. This is the first general election in the state after bifurcation of Andhra Pradesh and creation of Telangana in June 2014. There are a total of 3,93,45,717 registered voters, including 1,94,62,339 men, 1,98,79,421 women and 3,957 transgenders.

Of the total, 10.15 lakh are first-time voters in the 18-19 age group. As many as 2,118 and 319 candidates are in the fray for 175 Assembly and 25 Lok Sabha seats respectively in Andhra Pradesh.

The Lok Sabha elections are being held in seven phases throughout the country from April 11 to May 19, and the results of the polls will be declared on May 23.

READ: Assembly Elections 2019 LIVE: Voting To Take Place In Andhra Pradesh, Odisha, Arunachal Pradesh And Sikkim


Republic World brings you comprehensive election news coverage and phase-by-phase election updates of the Indian General Elections 2019. The 2019 Lok Sabha Elections will be held from April 11 to May 19 in seven phases, with the counting of votes scheduled for May 23. Get all the latest election news, highlights, controversies, polls, live updates and results of the Lok Sabha Elections 2019, only on Republic World.

Trending in Politics - Narendra Modi, Rahul Gandhi, Amit ShahMamata BanerjeeYogi Adityanath