Bihar Lok Sabha Elections

IMPACT: Stung By Republic, RLSP MP Ram Kumar Sharma Denied Ticket To Contest Lok Sabha Polls

Written By Monica Aggarwal | Mumbai | Published:


  • In a massive impact of the sting operation conducted by Republic Bharat's special investigation team, RLSP MP Ram Kumar Sharma has been denied a ticket from party to contest the Lok Sabha elections

In a massive impact of the sting operation conducted by Republic Bharat special investigation team on RLSP (Rashtriya Lok Samta Party) sitting MP Ram Kumar Sharma, the Upendra Khushwaha-led party on Wednesday denied a ticket to the MP from Bihar's Sitamarhi constituency to contest the ensuing Lok Sabha polls. 

On March 19, Republic Bharat stung RLSP MP Ram Kumar Sharma on tape, exposing how he put his constituency on sale for some money - betraying not only the voters of the Constitution but also the exercise of the largest democracy in the world. From asking for 'Hundi' to putting a price tag on the questions to be asked in the Parliament, Republic Bharat Special Investigation team caught the RSLP MP on tape asking for money from the reporters in exchange of favours. 

In the explosive sting operation, Ram Kumar Sharma was caught on video talking about how funds can be transferred in various ways, including Hundi(hawala) (which violate the EC's model code of conduct).

On being asked by Republic reporter on how to send the money, Ram Kumar Sharma says, "You can send through hoondi (havala)". 

Following the explosive investigation, RLSP chief Upendra Kushwaha has also claimed to have summoned the stung MP and asked for an explanation.

READ: CLINCHER | From 'hundi, Hawala' To Rs 10 Crore Chatter To Price Tags For Questions In Parliament, Stung Sitting RLSP MP Ram Kumar Sharma Reveals All The Rot

Meanwhile, Rashtriya Lok Samata Party on Wednesday declared all 5 candidates from Bihar. Party chief Upendra Kushwaha is set to contest from two seats in Karakat and Ujiarpur Lok Sabha seats in Bihar. Other candidates are Aakash Kumar Singh from Purvi Champaran, Brijesh Kumar Kushwaha from Paschim Champaran and Bhudeo Chaudhary from Jamuai.

Lok Sabha elections are scheduled to kickstart from April 11, with Bihar going to polls in all seven phases. The results of the elections will be announced on May 23.

MUST READ: The 10 Most Explosive Takeaways From The 'Operation Bikau Sansad' Sting