Bihar Lok Sabha Elections

Mouthwatering Patna Sahib Contest Looms, Congress Fields Shatrughan Sinha Against BJP's Ravi Shankar Prasad In Elections 2019

Written By Aliza Noor | Mumbai | Published:


  • This comes in the wake of a political rift between BJP leader Ravi Shankar and Shatrughan Sinha that has been taking place since last month
  • Sinha's primary reason for leaving BJP was the denial of the Patna Sahib ticket, thereafter which he launched scathing remarks at the party

Following Shatrughan Sinha's officially induction in the Congress party on Saturday the former BJP rebel leader has been fielded by the party on his sitting Bihar's Patna Sahib constituency, against Union Minister Ravi Shankar Prasad. 

The development came after the Central Election Committee of Congress released a new list of five candidates with less than a week to go for the 17th General Elections where Sinha has bagged the coveted seat.

As the list states, these are the new candidates - 

1. Shatrughan Sinha from Patna Sahib - Bihar
2. Ram Lal Thakur from Hamirpur - Himachal Pradesh
3. Jasbir Singh Gill from Khadoor Sahib - Punjab
4. Amar Singh from Fatehgarh Sahib - Punjab
5. Mohd. Sadique from Faridkot - Punjab

This comes as a win for Congress leader Shatrughan Sinha as he had hurled scathing remarks at  BJP last month for giving the party ticket for his sitting constituency to Union Minister Ravi Shankar Prasad.  

Hailing the Bihar alliance with Lalu Prasad Yadav's RJD, Sinha tweeted: 

WATCH: Shatrughan Sinha Has 'BJP' Slip-of-tongue At Formal Congress Induction, Gives 'BJP Foundation Day' Explanation

On March 26, when BJP announced that Union Minister Ravi Shankar Prasad will contest from the concerned constituency in the national election, Sinha retaliated saying that it has warned the party and that he can "answer back in the same coin."

The rebellious leader of his former party, he has often denounced BJP for the ticket denied to him, he further censured BJP's decision of fielding party president Amit Shah from patron LK Advani's bastion Gandhinagar seat. Amidst his criticisms, also arose speculations as to the power dynamics of the parties and the fight for the hot seat - Patna Sahib.

After an anticipated Uttar Pradesh's Amethi seat showdown between Rahul Gandhi-Smriti Irani, the contest in Patna Sahib also has intrigued the political-verse. 


The Mahagathbandhan announced their seat-sharing formula last month, where RJD will be contesting 20 seats, Congress 9, leaving the rest out of 40 seats for other small parties. 

READ: Spurned Shatrughan Sinha Unleashes Astonishing Rant Against BJP After Party Gives Ravi Shankar Prasad Ticket For Patna Sahib Lok Sabha Constituency


Republic World brings you comprehensive election news coverage and phase-by-phase election updates of the Indian General Elections 2019. The 2019 Lok Sabha Elections will be held from April 11 to May 19 in seven phases, with the counting of votes scheduled for May 23. Get all the latest election news, highlights, controversies, polls, live updates and results of the Lok Sabha Elections 2019, only on Republic World.

Trending in Politics - Narendra Modi, Rahul Gandhi, Amit ShahMamata BanerjeeYogi Adityanath