Dadra and Nagar Haveli Lok Sabha Elections

Republic Double Exit Poll: Both Jan Ki Baat And CVoter Project Dadra And Nagar Haveli Seat To Go In Favour Of NDA

Written By Daamini Sharma | Mumbai | Published:

Thirty-eight days after it began, the polling in the 2019 Lok Sabha elections has concluded on Sunday, bringing to an end the largest festival of democracy anywhere in the world. Spread across seven phases throughout the 29 states and 7 Union Territories, the 2019 elections will decide the fate of the 542 Lok Sabha seats (excluding the Vellore constituency where elections were countermanded over alleged use of cash by DMK). Now, the final chapter in the polls remains as the country awaits to know the composition of the 17th Lok Sabha which and consequently, the next government of India. Ahead of the critical vote-counting on May 23, however, amid the slog overs of the general elections, Republic Media Network has brought to its viewers a mega double exit poll which presents a projection on what the final outcome may be.

India's biggest double exit poll, conducted on-ground at polling booths across the country by the nation's biggest pollsters CVoter and Jan Ki Baat, presents a statistically significant projection for the country, including granularity to the level of individual states and union territories.

The Union Territory of Dadra & Nagar Haveli is a set of two geographical entities situated in West India. It has only one Lok Sabha seat, which was won by the Bharatiya Janata Party’s Natubhai Gomanbhai Patel in the 2014 Lok Sabha elections. The big question ahead of the polls was whether there would be a repeat?

Projection in Dadra and Nagar Haveli (Total seat: 1 seat)


Now, as per the predicted figure, it is clear that NDA will continue to have its stronghold in the Union Territory. It is projected that NDA will win the sole parliamentary seat in the state whereas UPA continues with its losing streak. 

Here's the vote share projection:

  • NDA- 45.9%
  • UPA- 42.4%

Jan Ki Baat projection:

Now, as per the predicted figure, NDA is likely to emerge as the winners as UPA is projected to experience another loss in the Union Territory.

Here's the vote share projection:

  • NDA- 1 seat
  • UPA- 0 seats

Here's how the Union territory voted in the last three elections in the state:

The turnout of Union territories of Dadra and Nagar Haveli stood at 79.59 percent. However, at the time of the previous general elections in 2014, Dadra & Nagar Haveli had a total of 196,597 registered electors, of whom 84.09 percent, or 165,324, exercised their right to franchise across 240 polling stations to choose their only Member of Parliament from among 9 candidates.

The election story so far:

The 2019 elections saw high-octane electric campaigning from both sides as the BJP went hammer and tongs, expressing confidence at each turn that it would not only repeat but also better its tally of 282 votes from five years earlier, whereas the Congress and other Opposition parties, especially West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee also campaigned heavily though without being able to make any convincing show of unity. While Prime Minister Narendra Modi, seeking a second term in the Parliament, addressed a total of 144 rallies and roadshows this election season, Congress president Rahul Gandhi addressed 125 rallies in the 2019 polls.

While Prime Minister Narendra Modi, seeking a second term in the office, addressed a total of 144 rallies and roadshows this election season, Congress president Rahul Gandhi addressed 125 rallies in the 2019 polls with the elections also marking the entry of his sister Priyanka Gandhi Vadra as an official member of the Congress.  

There were controversies galore over the course of the polls, ranging from poll violence being witnessed in each of the 7 phases of voting in Bengal, to some shocking statements from leaders across parties, with the likes of Azam Khan, Yogi Adityanath, Maneka Gandhi and others being struck down on by the Election Commission, and others, like Sam Pitroda, Sadhvi Pragya and Kamal Haasan triggering mass outrage. 

A number of Republic Media Network newsbreaks especially set the agenda for the polls, including the first interview of the Prime Minister's election campaign to Republic's Editor-in-Chief Arnab Goswami and his final campaign interview to Executive Editor Abhishek Kapoor. Alongside these were the sensational #MPsOnSale sting on sitting MPs who showed themselves willing to compromise the interests of those whom they claim to represent, the Operation Karz Maafi sting that exposed the falsehood in the Congress' farm loan-waiver promise, and numerous others.

The vote counting for the 2019 Lok Sabha polls will be held on May 23. Join Arnab on Republic Media Network for non-stop coverage of the sensational conclusion to the general elections. 




Republic World brings you comprehensive election news coverage and phase-by-phase election updates of the Indian General Elections 2019. The 2019 Lok Sabha Elections will be held from April 11 to May 19 in seven phases, with the counting of votes scheduled for May 23. Get all the latest election news, highlights, controversies, polls, live updates and results of the Lok Sabha Elections 2019, only on Republic World.

Trending in Politics - Narendra Modi, Rahul Gandhi, Amit ShahMamata BanerjeeYogi Adityanath