Gujarat Lok Sabha Elections

2019 Lok Sabha Election Results For Gandhinagar, Gujarat: Amit Shah Wins With Historic Victory Margin, Breaks BJP Veteran LK Advani's Record

Written By Aishwaria Sonavane | Mumbai | Published:

In his inaugural battle in the 2019 Lok Sabha elections, BJP president Amit Shah has come out victorious from party patriarch LK Advani's former bastion - Gujarat's Gandhinagar against Congress' two-time MLA CJ Chavda. Previously, BJP leader Advani had held the seat from 1998-2019 for five consecutive terms.

As per the figures put out by the Election Commission, Amit Shah received a massive 8,89,925 votes, breaking the victory margin record of party veteran LK Advani from Gandhinagar Lok Sabha seat in 2019 Lok Sabha polls. He defeated Indian National Congress' Dr. CJ Chavda (3,34,082 votes) by a margin of 5,57,014 votes. 

In 2014 General election, LK Advani had won this seat with a margin of 4. 83, 121 votes. 


The BJP president held two massive road-shows in the constituency, first on the day of his nomination filing and second a week after. Before embarking on his roadshow from Sarkhej area in Ahmedabad, Shah had garlanded the photographs of Jan Sangh founders Deendayal Upadhyaya and Syama Prasad Mookerjee.

"I will make every effort to take Advani ji's legacy forward" Amit Shah had said before filing his nomination papers on March 30.

Amit Shah’s competitor

The BJP president was fielded against Congress' two-time MLA CJ Chavda. The Congress candidate belongs to the Thakor community which has been in support of the grand old party. Chavda, a veterinary doctor by profession had stated that the contest in the constituency is between BJP and Congress rather than the candidates.

BJP bastion

BJP won the Gandhinagar seat from Congress in 1989 and has held onto it since then. In 1996, former PM Atal Bihari Vajpayee contested against Congress leader and Bollywood actor Rajesh Khanna and defeated him by garnering 2.58 lakh votes in contrast to Khanna's 1.97 lakh votes.  

In the past the grand old party had also fielded other known personalities such as former Chief Election Commissioner TN Seshan and former state DGP P K Dutta from the seat.

Among all 26 seats in Gujarat, the state's capital city has the highest number of voters- 19.21 lakh. Out of the total 18 candidates that contested the seat, only one is a woman.

Here are all the MPs who have represented the constituency in the lower house- Somchandbhai Solanki (Congress), Purushottam Mavalankar (BLD), Amrit Patel (Congress), GI Patel (Congress), Shankersinh Vaghela (BJP), LK Advani (BJP), AB Vajpayee (BJP), Vijaybhai Patel (BJP)

2019 Lok Sabha Election Results: BJP Wins All 26 Seats In PM Modi's Home State Gujarat, Repeats 2014 Whitewash


Republic World brings you comprehensive election news coverage and phase-by-phase election updates of the Indian General Elections 2019. The 2019 Lok Sabha Elections will be held from April 11 to May 19 in seven phases, with the counting of votes scheduled for May 23. Get all the latest election news, highlights, controversies, polls, live updates and results of the Lok Sabha Elections 2019, only on Republic World.

Trending in Politics - Narendra Modi, Rahul Gandhi, Amit ShahMamata BanerjeeYogi Adityanath