Republic Double Exit Poll For Mizoram: While CVoter Projects Congress And Zoram People’s Movement Alliance's Success, Jan Ki Baat Says MNF Repeat Performance Likely

Mizoram Lok Sabha Elections

While India is on the threshold of welcoming a new government, the Republic Media Network has broadcast India's biggest exit poll - the mega double exit poll in collaboration with the country's top pollsters Jan Ki Baat and CVoter. 

Written By Navashree Nandini | Mumbai | Updated On:

As the polling in the all-important 2019 Lok Sabha polls - the largest exercise in democratic franchise anywhere in the world - has officially come to an end, the countdown for the deciding-day - May 23  has begun, when the results of the 2019 Lok Sabha Elections will finally be declared. While India is on the threshold of welcoming a new government, the Republic Media Network has broadcast India's biggest exit poll - the mega double exit poll in collaboration with the country's top pollsters Jan Ki Baat and CVoter. 

An estimated 900 million citizens voted in thousands of polling booths in every corner of the country in the 39 days-long voting process. Vote-counting will be held for 542 seats in the Lower House of India's Parliament (Vellore in Tamil Nadu stands countermanded) and the country awaits with the crucial numbers regarding the composition of the 17th Lok Sabha.

While the exact numbers will be declared on May 23, Republic Media Network presents mega double exit poll a projection of how the seat-shares and vote-shares could turn out for each of the states and union territories of India, and put together, project whether the BJP and NDA will be able to repeat their historic mandate of 2014 and conversely, whether the Congress, UPA will be able to make a fightback from reaching a historic low. The projections are made after conducting extensive on-ground surveys all across the country following each of the seven phases of the 2019 polls.

Here are what the Republic Exit polls number predicts for Mizoram: 



NDA: 0 seats

UPA: 1 seat


NDA: 4.7 percent

UPA: 39.6 percent


MNF: 1

Congress: 0

BJP: 0

The key contest in the state: 

A two-cornered fight is underway in the state's lone seat with the ruling Mizo National Front nominating C Lalrosanga and Cong-Zoram People’s Movement (ZPM) alliance fielding Lalnghinglova Hmar. Though ZPM and Congress fought the assembly elections against each other they sealed a deal against the BJP and its allies for the Lok Sabha elections as BJP has started making inroads in the state and won one seat in assembly elections in 2018.

The constituency went to polls in the first phase of the 2019 Lok Sabha elections on April 11. Lalnghinglova Hmar, a joint candidate of the Congress and the Zoram People’s Movement, contested against Nirupam Chakma of the BJP and the Mizo National Front’s C Lalrosanga.

In the 2014 general elections, Congress won the lone seat in the state. In the assembly elections earlier this year, Mizo National Front won 26 seats and Congress came at the second while the BJP made inroads by bagging one seat in the state. 

How the state voted: 

Going on polls in the first phase of elections, here is the comparison of the voter turnout in the state between 2014 and 2019 elections

2014 Lok Sabha elections: 61.06 percent

2019 Lok Sabha elections: 63.06 percent

The Lok Sabha election stretched for more than one month saw heated campaigning from all parties. While Prime Minister Narendra Modi, seeking a second term in the office, addressed a total of 144 rallies and roadshows this election season, Congress president Rahul Gandhi addressed 125 rallies in the 2019 polls with the elections also marking the entry of his sister Priyanka Gandhi Vadra as an official member of the Congress.

In the Lok Sabha elections 2019, there were controversies galore over the course of the polls, ranging from poll violence being witnessed in each of the 7 phases of voting in Bengal, to some shocking statements from leaders across parties, with the likes of Azam Khan, Yogi Adityanath, Maneka Gandhi and others being struck down on by the Election Commission, and others, like Sam Pitroda, Sadhvi Pragya and Kamal Haasan triggering mass outrage. 

A number of Republic Media Network newsbreaks especially set the agenda for the polls, including the first interview of the Prime Minister's election campaign to Republic's Editor-in-Chief Arnab Goswami and his final campaign interview to Executive Editor Abhishek Kapoor. Alongside these were the sensational #MPsOnSale sting on sitting MPs who showed themselves willing to compromise the interests of those whom they claim to represent, the Operation Karz Maafi sting that exposed the falsehood in the Congress' farm loan-waiver promise, and numerous others.

The vote counting for the 2019 Lok Sabha polls will be held on May 23. Join Arnab on Republic Media Network for non-stop coverage of the sensational conclusion to the general elections here.


By 2030, 40% Indians will not have access to drinking water