Brought to you by


Your browser does not support the canvas element.



NCT of Delhi Lok Sabha Elections

BIG: Gautam Gambhir Gets BJP Lok Sabha Election Ticket, Mouthwatering East Delhi Contest With AAP's Atishi Marlena And Congress' Arvinder Singh Lovely In Store

Written By Aishwaria Sonavane | Mumbai | Published:

The BJP on Monday released its 24th list for the Parliamentary elections naming two candidates from NCT of Delhi. 

  • East Delhi- Gautam Gambhir
  • New Delhi- Meenakshi Lekhi

READ| 'Then I Want To Walk On Oceans And Pigs To Fly' Says BJP Entrant Gautam Gambhir Flatly Opposing Omar Abdullah's 'separate PM For J&K' Remark

Right after a shift in career from cricket to politics, the BJP entrant stoked controversy by engaging in a twitter spat between two leaders of the prominent parties in Jammu and Kashmir- NC's Omar Abdullah and PDP chief Mehbooba Mufti over the abrogation of Section 370 and Section 35A from the Constitution. 

Meanwhile, BJP MP Meenakshi Lekhi recently came to light after filing a contempt plea against Rahul Gandhi wherein he admitted in the Supreme Court that he made the statements over his allegations in the Rafale case in the “heat of political campaigning”

In a compelling triangular contest between three candidates, East Delhi will have entrant cricketer-turned-politician Gautam Gambhir, Congress' Arvinder Singh Lovely and AAP candidate Atishi Marlena. 

Earlier, the BJP released its 23rd candidate list for the 2019 Lok Sabha elections on Sunday where it announced seven members whom it is fielding from constituencies across Delhi, Punjab, Uttar Pradesh and Madhya Pradesh.

Among those in the list include Union Ministers Dr Harsh Vardhan who has been given the ticket to fight from Chandni Chowk, and Hardeep Singh Puri will contest from Amritsar, and actor-turned-politician Manoj Tiwari who will be fighting the polls from North East Delhi.

Meanwhile former chief minister of Delhi Sheila Dikshit will lock horns with BJP's Manoj Tiwari to fight out North East Delhi seat. 

WATCH: Meenakshi Lekhi's First Response As Rahul Gandhi Expresses Regret On His 'heat Of Political Campaigning' Rafale Remarks On Her Supreme Court Petition


Republic World brings you comprehensive election news coverage and phase-by-phase election updates of the Indian General Elections 2019. The 2019 Lok Sabha Elections will be held from April 11 to May 19 in seven phases, with the counting of votes scheduled for May 23. Get all the latest election news, highlights, controversies, polls, live updates and results of the Lok Sabha Elections 2019, only on Republic World.

Trending in Politics - Narendra Modi, Rahul Gandhi, Amit ShahMamata BanerjeeYogi Adityanath