Sikkim Lok Sabha Elections

2019 Lok Sabha Election Results: In Sikkim, NDA Wins The Sole Seat

Written By Diyali Banerjee | Mumbai | Published:

Sikkim one of the northeastern states where the BJP made inroads by making an alliance with the Sikkim Democratic Front (SDF) which is currently in charge of governance in the state. 

The 2019 elections saw a political battle between ruling Sikkim Democratic Front (SDF) and the Opposition Sikkim Krantikari Morcha (SKM) for the single Lok Sabha seat, which polled in a single phase on April 11.  

Results 2019 Lok Sabha:

The NDA won the sole seat in the state


This year, SDF had fielded DB Katwal instead of sitting MP Prem Das Rai. He was contesting opposite SKM candidate Indrahand Subba in the Lok Sabha polls. Congress state president Bharat Basnett and Bharatiya Janata Party youth leader Laten Sherpa also contested for the seat. Meanwhile, another primary candidate who was contesting for Sikkim this year is former India football legend Bhaichung Bhutia from Hamro Sikkim Party.


The Sikkim Democratic Front (SDF) has a stronghold in the state and with NDA's alliance with the party, it was likely to win the polls according to both CVoter and Jan Ki Baat surveys.

CVoter exit poll

Seat share:

Vote share:
UPA-5.5 %

Jan Ki Baat survey
NDA- 1


The current sitting MP of the SDF Prem Das Rai who won the Sikkim Lok Sabha seat two times consecutively in the 2009 and 2014 general elections is not contest this time. In 2014 Lok Sabha polls, he won the seat with 52.98 percentile. 
Assembly elections 2019:

Meanwhile, simultaneous Assembly and Lok Sabha elections were held in the Sikkim, for the fourth consecutive time time year.  SDF chief Pawan Kumar Chamling, who is serving as the chief minister of the state since 1994, contested in the Assembly elections this year looking forward to the sixth term of his service as the chief minister of Sikkim.

On a national scale:

The political discourse of this election season ranged from cracks in coalition to astonishing communal and crass statements by leaders across parties, Azam Khan, Yogi Adityanath, Maneka Gandhi and others being struck down on by the Election Commission and others, like Sam Pitroda, Sadhvi Pragya and Kamal Haasan triggering mass outrage.

A number of Republic Media Network newsbreaks especially set the agenda for the polls, including PM Narendra Modi completing a full circle with his first and last election campaign interview with Republic Media Network. Alongside the sensational #MPsOnSale sting on sitting MPs who showed themselves willing to compromise the interests of those whom they claim to represent, the Operation Karz Maafi sting that exposed the falsehood in the Congress' farm loan-waiver promise, and numerous others.


Republic World brings you comprehensive election news coverage and phase-by-phase election updates of the Indian General Elections 2019. The 2019 Lok Sabha Elections will be held from April 11 to May 19 in seven phases, with the counting of votes scheduled for May 23. Get all the latest election news, highlights, controversies, polls, live updates and results of the Lok Sabha Elections 2019, only on Republic World.

Trending in Politics - Narendra Modi, Rahul Gandhi, Amit ShahMamata BanerjeeYogi Adityanath