Tripura Lok Sabha Elections

Republic Double Exit Poll For Tripura: NDA Projected To Repeat Its Assembly Election Performance In The Former Left Bastion, CVoter And Jan Ki Baat Concur On Both Seats Going In Favour Of Saffron Party

Written By Daamini Sharma | Mumbai | Published:

Thirty-eight days after it began, the polling in the 2019 Lok Sabha elections has concluded on Sunday, bringing to an end the largest festival of democracy anywhere in the world. Spread across seven phases throughout the 29 states and 7 Union Territories, the 2019 elections will decide the fate of the 542 Lok Sabha seats (excluding the Vellore constituency where elections were countermanded over alleged use of cash by DMK). Now, the final chapter in the polls remains as the country awaits to know the composition of the 17th Lok Sabha which and consequently, the next government of India. Ahead of the critical vote-counting on May 23, however, amid the slog overs of the general elections, Republic Media Network has brought to its viewers a mega double exit poll which presents a projection on what the final outcome may be.

India's biggest double exit poll, conducted on-ground at polling booths across the country by the nation's biggest pollsters CVoter and Jan Ki Baat, presents a statistically significant projection for the country, including granularity to the level of individual states and union territories.

The state of Tripura is one that has a lot of eyes on it, with one of the reasons being that it witnessed an incredible result in the Assembly polls that were held in 2018 when the BJP sensationally defeated the Left in its own bastion. The big question ahead of the polls was whether there would be a repeat.

Here is the projection for Tripura (Total seats 2)


Now, as per the predicted figure, it is clear that NDA will continue to have its stronghold in the state. It is projected that NDA will win both the parliamentary seat in the state whereas UPA and CPM will be left behind empty handed. 

Here's the vote share projection:

  • NDA- 42.7%
  • UPA- 6.3%
  • CPM-26.9%

Jan Ki Baat projection:

According to Jan Ki Baat projection, the picture is similar to the C-Voter prediction. NDA is likely to with both the parliamentary seat in the state whereas UPA and CPM will be left empty-handed.  

Here's the seat share projection:

  • NDA- 2 seats
  • UPA- 0 seas
  • CPM-0 seats

Voter turnout in 2019 Lok Sabha Elections:

According to available reports, Tripura registered the highest voting percentage at 83.21 percent out of the states that went to polls in the first phase. Moreover, the voter turnout in the 2014 General election concluded at around 85.50%.

At present, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) is in power in Tripura with Chief Minister Biplab Deb looking after the state administration. In the past five years, the BJP has made inroads in Tripura and other Northeastern states.

The election story so far:

The 2019 elections saw high-octane electric campaigning from both sides as the BJP went hammer and tongs, expressing confidence at each turn that it would not only repeat but also better its tally of 282 votes from five years earlier, whereas the Congress and other Opposition parties, especially West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee also campaigned heavily though without being able to make any convincing show of unity. While Prime Minister Narendra Modi, seeking a second term in the Parliament, addressed a total of 144 rallies and roadshows this election season, Congress president Rahul Gandhi addressed 125 rallies in the 2019 polls.

While Prime Minister Narendra Modi, seeking a second term in the office, addressed a total of 144 rallies and roadshows this election season, Congress president Rahul Gandhi addressed 125 rallies in the 2019 polls with the elections also marking the entry of his sister Priyanka Gandhi Vadra as an official member of the Congress.  

There were controversies galore over the course of the polls, ranging from poll violence being witnessed in each of the 7 phases of voting in Bengal, to some shocking statements from leaders across parties, with the likes of Azam Khan, Yogi Adityanath, Maneka Gandhi and others being struck down on by the Election Commission, and others, like Sam Pitroda, Sadhvi Pragya and Kamal Haasan triggering mass outrage. 

A number of Republic Media Network newsbreaks especially set the agenda for the polls, including the first interview of the Prime Minister's election campaign to Republic's Editor-in-Chief Arnab Goswami and his final campaign interview to Executive Editor Abhishek Kapoor. Alongside these were the sensational #MPsOnSale sting on sitting MPs who showed themselves willing to compromise the interests of those whom they claim to represent, the Operation Karz Maafi sting that exposed the falsehood in the Congress' farm loan-waiver promise, and numerous others.

The vote counting for the 2019 Lok Sabha polls will be held on May 23. Join Arnab on Republic Media Network for non-stop coverage of the sensational conclusion to the general elections. 


Republic World brings you comprehensive election news coverage and phase-by-phase election updates of the Indian General Elections 2019. The 2019 Lok Sabha Elections will be held from April 11 to May 19 in seven phases, with the counting of votes scheduled for May 23. Get all the latest election news, highlights, controversies, polls, live updates and results of the Lok Sabha Elections 2019, only on Republic World.

Trending in Politics - Narendra Modi, Rahul Gandhi, Amit ShahMamata BanerjeeYogi Adityanath