Uttar Pradesh Lok Sabha Elections

2019 Lok Sabha Election Results For Mainpuri, Uttar Pradesh: In A Prestige Battle For SP, Mulayam Singh Yadav Defeats BJP's Prem Singh Shakya

Written By Monica Aggarwal | Mumbai | Published:


  • In a prestige battle for SP, Mulayam Singh Yadav won the Mainpuri Lok Sabha seat
  • He secured 53.75 percent vote-share as against BJP' Prem Singh Shakya, who secured the second position with 44.09 percent votes

In a prestige battle for Akhilesh Yadav-led Samajwadi Party for one of most high-profile Lok Sabha seats in the electorally significant state of Uttar Pradesh in the 2019 General Elections, Gathbandhan candidate and former U.P CM Mulayam Singh Yadav has won the Mainpuri seat contest against BJP’s candidate Prem Singh Shakya.

After the counting of votes on May 23, SP's Mulayam Singh Yadav won his prestige battle for the Mainpuri Lok Sabha seat, by securing 53.75 percent vote-share with 5,24,926 votes against BJP' Prem Singh Shakya, who secured the second position with 44.09 percent vote-share. 

2019 Election campaign

While there was a tough battle between Mulayam Singh and BJP's Prem Singh Shakya in this election, the SP patriarch was, nonetheless, the favourite going into the election with his long-standing emotional and local appeal among the voters.

The 2019 Lok Sabha polls witnessed fierce campaigning for Mulayam Singh Yadav. One of the most stunning developments in this election has been witnessing Mayawati sharing the dias with the SP patriarch for a rally in Mainpuri Lok Sabha constituency. The BSP supremo has been the arch-rival of Mulayam Singh Yadav for over 24 years since 1995 when SP cadres allegedly attacked the state guest house where the BSP chief had been camping along with her supporters.

Historical trends

In the state which sends the maximum MPs to the Lok Sabha, Mainpuri is seat which has been held by a member of the Samajwadi Party’s first family since three terms. Mulayam Singh had won the seat for the first time in the General Elections in 2004. 

Even after his big win from Mainpuri Lok Sabha seat in 2004 when he was the Chief Minister of Uttar Pradesh, Mulayam Singh Yadav had to resign soon after since he chose to stay in the UP assembly. Later, in the by-polls, he fielded his nephew Dharmendra Yadav. In 2009, Mulayam Singh contested again from Mainpuri, shifting Dharmendra to UP’s Budaun and retained the seat once again serving the constituency as an MP this time for five years. 2014 saw another victory for the SP patriarch from both Mainpuri and Azamgarh, despite the huge Modi wave. Choosing to retain Azamgarh this time, during the 2014 by-poll, the party pitted another nephew of Mulayam, Tej Pratap Singh Yadav, to represent the seat in Lok Sabha. Tej Pratap Singh Yadav who registered a thumping victory against BJP candidate Prem Singh Shakya by a margin of 3,21,249 votes. Notably, Tej Pratap Singh Yadav, who is the sitting MP from Mainpuri Lok Sabha constituency, is the son-in-law of Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) chief Lalu Prasad Yadav.

The Parliamentary constituency comprises five legislative assembly segments - Bhongaon, Jaswantnagar, Karhal, Kishni and Mainpuri.

2019 Lok Sabha Election Results For Azamgarh, UP: SP Chief Akhilesh Yadav Overcomes BJP's Pretender Dinesh Lal Yadav 'Nirahua'